Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2009, 03:10 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Here is the information gathered about the problem:

1. There is power going to the switch pins
2. The switch is not the problem tested by using a spare jumper
3. The motherboard stand by led is on showing power is going to it
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2009, 04:40 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Try shorting the 2 power switch pins, with a conductive screwdriver or something. Better yet, hook up the reset switch to the power pins. If you have a voltmeter, set it to check resistance, and check the switch. It should have infinite resistance, then near 0 resistance when you press the switch.

edit - just saw you have a retailplus power supply.. check that thing - unplug it from everything in the system, then short the green and black wires, should turn on the psu - youll hear the psu fan.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2009, 04:59 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,710
Default

is your computer in the basement ? any flooding happened while on trip ?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2009, 05:22 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Port Moody, BC
Posts: 2,101

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a friend or family member that runs on the same, or very similar, platform? Worst case scenario is that you have to swap components out with a known working PC one at a time. I'd start with the case if you're concerned about the power switch. Also, you're not plugged in to a power bar or UPS are you? 'Cause it wouldn't be the first time I've seen one of those die.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 05:44 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Already shorted the green and black wires to start the psu worked perfectly powered the fans/hdd/cdd/and motherboard but won't start it because the boot doesn't work that way I guess. I also tried that with a spare jumper and a screwdriver. Secondly there was no flooding while i was gone. Also no one I know has the same set up but I am thinking of asking my friends dad (the one who put it together) if he can shed some light.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 07:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 186
Default

I have this problem from time to time. But since I can turn it on after waiting for a few seconds, I reckon we have different problems.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 09:04 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

I am starting to suspect it may be a problem with the house. Maybe the psu can't give a good power signal because the power is to "dirty". I just think this because I read if your computer won't turn on because of a short in the power to unplug it and leave it for 15 seconds to let the thing reset.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 09:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 186
Default

Got a UPS you can try it on?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 09:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,027
Default

RetailPlus 465w psu ? Even though it's "newish", you never know.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 09:51 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

I don't have a ups no so I should borrow one. I do have a spare psu that needs a little fix but should work fine that I will swap out with the old one.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comp won't Boot up v0maru Troubleshooting 2 December 23, 2008 11:23 PM
Changed PSU now system won't boot? Sniper Troubleshooting 3 May 17, 2008 09:54 AM
won't boot up Jhayman Troubleshooting 0 December 6, 2007 11:41 AM
Upgraded Hardware Won't Boot to Bios RGAR Troubleshooting 11 October 24, 2007 07:07 AM
Striker Extreme: Won't Boot! wpurcell CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 9, 2007 08:18 AM