Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2009, 10:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 46
Default 2 of 3 pci ports stop boot up

I have an older HP desktop that has 3 PCI ports and only one works. I tried to add a PCI to cardbus adapter so I can use an aircard for internet and it will work in only one port. The problem is it is next to my video card in the pci express port and it blocks the airflow and over heats my card. The card is almost touching the fan. When I plug it in to any of the other 2 ports the computer won't boot. Everything goes fine till the windows screen comes up,at half brightness,then it locks up. I tried to boot in safe mode but it gets to the screen that prints the whole page,I don't know what it's called, then it locks up just like in the windows boot. The only way I can get it to work is to hold the power button till the pc shuts down then remove the card. In the first port all is good,pnp picks it up,installs the card and it works as it should. Does anybody have any Idea why the other 2 wont work?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2009, 10:13 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoKlu View Post
I have an older HP desktop that has 3 PCI ports and only one works. I tried to add a PCI to cardbus adapter so I can use an aircard for internet and it will work in only one port. The problem is it is next to my video card in the pci express port and it blocks the airflow and over heats my card. The card is almost touching the fan. When I plug it in to any of the other 2 ports the computer won't boot. Everything goes fine till the windows screen comes up,at half brightness,then it locks up. I tried to boot in safe mode but it gets to the screen that prints the whole page,I don't know what it's called, then it locks up just like in the windows boot. The only way I can get it to work is to hold the power button till the pc shuts down then remove the card. In the first port all is good,pnp picks it up,installs the card and it works as it should. Does anybody have any Idea why the other 2 wont work?
Sounds like a IRQ conflict with the vga adapter.

Probably can't do much.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2009, 10:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 46
Default

The GTX 260 I just opened up 3 hours ago won't fit on my motherboard, now the cardbus won't work without wrecking the 6600gt card I have . I can do something about it. I7 920, P6T, 6 gigs ram ,Solid state drive,850 watts and windows 7 all stuffed in a Coolermaster Storm Scout. Addios Hewlett Peckerd. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Koolance QDC for fill/drain ports on res steers Water Cooling 9 July 9, 2009 09:28 AM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 07:46 PM
Gigabyte P45-DQ6 has four Ethernet ports Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 3 May 7, 2008 08:10 AM
stacker 830 front usb ports problem... CraigHf Troubleshooting 4 April 13, 2008 07:07 PM
How to open ports? Theblackmages Networking 2 December 20, 2007 06:05 PM