Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 2, 2009, 12:50 PM
Rookie

Default New/First Build - Won't Post

Help!

This is my first build. I have a Gigabyte x58 UD5 mobo with mushkin memory 998691.

Well I thought I was succesful - got to the Gigabyte logo screen and then it looked like it was going to post (saw that screen for an instant) but then it goes to a PCI Devices Listing screen, at the bottom it says "Verifying DMI Pool Data" and then "Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter" Also, the mobo has the dreaded "FF" code on the LCD display.

Any suggestions - I have tried clearing CMOS a bunch of times as well as taking out the mobo battery.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!
Old October 2, 2009, 01:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Please post all system specs. Try booting with minimal hardware, one stick of ram, cpu, video card. Best to pull mobo out of case to eliminate shorts. Here is a site with some flow charts that may be helpful.Computer Repair with Diagnostic Flowcharts - PC Troubleshooting and Repair For Dell, HP, and other Desktop Computers

Try swapping the ram to different slots & report back.
Old October 2, 2009, 01:55 PM
Rookie

List of parts:

Gigabyte X58-UD5 Motherboard
Mushkin Redline XP3-12800 DDR Memory - 3 x 2gb sticks - model # 998691
Prolimatech megahalems cpu cooler with 2 Noctua NF-P12 fans in push/pull configuration
EVGA GTX 275 video card
WD Caviar Black 1 TB hardrive
Samsung SH-S223L/BEBS 22x SATA DVD burner
Lian-Li A70 case
Dell 2408 Monitor
Corsair HX1000 Power Supply

I hope I haven't left anything out.

I have started to try to boot with only 1 stick of RAM - first try no go - going to try each of the other 2 now.

Last edited by If You Build It; October 2, 2009 at 04:02 PM. Reason: adding a component
Old October 2, 2009, 02:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

10 Step "No Post" BIOS Recovery Guide

Quote: