Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2009, 07:47 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mtl
Posts: 106
Default

ummm

Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter = you have already finished POST, and it is trying to boot up, since it's a new computer you just need to stick a windows / linux / whatever CD and let it boot.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2009, 07:58 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,874

My System Specs

Default

Have you installed Windows, or not? If not, that message means that there is nothing to boot with.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2009, 11:47 AM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by If You Build It View Post
"Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter"
Yup, I agree with 3.0charlie and belinik. So far it's just indicating that there's nothing to boot from on the hard disk. Just go ahead and install your operating system of choice.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2009, 01:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks too all!!! I did try putting in the Window 7 iso boot disc but it wasn't working yesterday. However, this morning, I decided to put everything back together again, after lowering the vcore to 1.1 from 1.25 and bingo, bob's your uncle, presto - it worked. Got Windows 7 loaded and she works beatifully. Now I'm going to raise the vcore to where it was (via auto in the BIOS) and hope for the best.

One little glitch - I was going to install a Netgear WN311 network adapter but it seems that Netgear hasn't developed the necessary Windows 7 x64 driver yet (or at least the guy from Netgear support says so). I am surprised that a company like Netgear wouldn't have Windows 7 drivers yet since it is going to be released to the public in less than 3 weeks!

Thanks again to all for your input.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New MB won't post Caldezar Troubleshooting 11 June 19, 2009 11:58 AM
New build Won't Post Gerrich Troubleshooting 10 April 21, 2008 05:33 PM
Computer won't post Kutesloriel Troubleshooting 13 April 21, 2008 11:43 AM
Computer won't post jnliten Troubleshooting 5 April 7, 2008 07:52 AM
New Rig won't POST... qwerty Troubleshooting 17 November 24, 2007 02:20 PM