Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 03:45 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,117

My System Specs

Default lg ggc-h20l blueray drive wont let computer start.

just installed this drive into my computer and all it does it make a clicking sound till the post screen then the light on the front stays on and it does not let the bios detect it and stops the computer from starting. anyone know how to fix this.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 03:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Power issue maybe? Did you try a different power cable for it?

I'm assuming it's SATA?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 04:52 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,117

My System Specs

Default

yes its sata, and i will try a different power cable now.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 05:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Also not sure how a blueray drive looks to the bios. Is there a chance it might need a bios update to be recognized?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 05:59 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,117

My System Specs

Default

well you were right, it was lacking power, *(&% cheap power supply's, put my trusty 850watt in and it all works fine.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comp wont start. kyle_L Troubleshooting 7 June 18, 2009 03:30 PM
FS:Zalman ZM-MFC2 &Lg GGC-H20L BLU-RAY HD-DVD jay51 Buy/Sell & Trade 12 November 29, 2008 04:28 PM
New build wont start at all Psycho-Designs Troubleshooting 19 April 14, 2008 01:08 PM
Windows wont start SCW O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 September 25, 2007 01:17 AM