Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2007, 04:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 5
Unhappy Can't boot to BIOS

Hey, I recently purchased a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard and I think that it may be defective.

What happened is I felt like underclocking to see how cool everything would get (I really wish I didn't do this). I went into the BIOS and set my CPU host frequency from 266 mhz down to 100 mhz, and then I rebooted the computer and two seconds later it shut down, then restart, and went through this procedure about 10 times before I decided to shut it down.

Now, I was able to test my CPU, power supply, memory, and my video card and they all worked perfectly. So I am positive that the problem is the motherboard.

And another problem is that I can't reset the BIOS, I removed the battery for 5 minutes and put the jumper on the clear cmos pins. So that won't work, and I unplugged everything and plugged it back in. I think that the problem may not be enough voltage since I underclocked it, but I think there is something else since I can't even reset the BIOS.

I looked everywhere and no one has the same problem as I do, so I thought I would post the problem here and hopefully someone knows how to fix this.

P.S. I also contacted the manufacturer about this problem and I am waiting for a response still.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2007, 05:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

Did you try running through this guide?

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/guide...ery-guide.html

All I can think of is possibly trying a single stick of mem in each different slot, and trying to get your hands on a pci (not pcie) vid card in case it's the resources for the vid slot which are foobared.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2007, 06:07 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Still here? We're getting pretty close to that 5% of unrecoverable “no post” faults, but there's a chance that a “long” c-mos reset might be the ticket to send you back to your happy place.
  • Disconnect the PSU power plug, and press the “on” switch to drain the capacitors on your PSU & motherboard.
  • Remove the battery from the motherboard.
  • Set the c-mos jumper for full reset & leave it set for 24 hours.
  • Do a long reset
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2007, 07:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 5
Default

Wow, i thought there would be no hope. I will try these steps out and let you know tommorow night how things go, thanks for the tips!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2007, 07:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

Good luck, and be sure to let us know how you make out.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2007, 08:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 5
Default

Well... I just tried step 9 of the no post guide, the long cmos restart, and it did not work . Same problem, the computer starts for 3 seconds and shuts down, then starts again, then shuts down again. I tried swapping the memory into each four slots, i took out the video card, and the cmos battery. I still think that the problem is not enough voltage and that I can't reset the bios for some reason.

But, if there are any more ideas on how to get this working, please let me know, because I think I will return this and get a new one.

Anyway, thanks for the help! I know I won't do anymore underclocking for a while.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2007, 08:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

That's probably about the only thing you can try other than getting a different CPU to try in the slot to see if that kickstarts the bios into default settings.

(You can also try powering up without the cpu in the socket... I doubt it will work, but you never know..... ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 07:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 5
Default

I tried the powering up without the Cpu, and the computer just ran without beeps and video, but when I was testing the Cpu in another computer, I placed the other one in mine for that reason, thinking it could jump start the bios. Maybe I just have really bad luck, but I'm picking up a new board today.
Thanks for the help though.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 09:25 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30 View Post
I tried the powering up without the Cpu, and the computer just ran without beeps and video, but when I was testing the Cpu in another computer, I placed the other one in mine for that reason, thinking it could jump start the bios. Maybe I just have really bad luck, but I'm picking up a new board today.
Thanks for the help though.
IF you have a speaker hooked upto the computer and you start the computer and you get no beeps you have a dead board. Motherboards beep for 1 of 4 things.

1) no cpu
2) no memory
3) no video
4) single post beep; everything is ok

if you get none it means the board is whack or dead.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2007, 07:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 5
Default

I hooked up the speaker but I did not get any beeps, instead I got static, like a dead channel on the radio or tv, so i guess the board is dead.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA-P35-DS3R - no bios/boot Mr. Cipher Troubleshooting 5 March 13, 2008 07:25 AM
No way to boot sciwhiz Troubleshooting 13 October 27, 2007 05:41 PM
Upgraded Hardware Won't Boot to Bios RGAR Troubleshooting 11 October 24, 2007 07:07 AM
No boot after bios change mattydies Troubleshooting 4 October 21, 2007 07:21 PM
Virtual Bios / Bios Copies Sting3r11 Off Topic 1 March 17, 2007 07:33 AM