Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 02:39 PM
ebcogs's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default no vidio after crash!!

Hello and thank any and all who can help me
I was just playing rfactor and my computer locked up, i had to manualy hard boot my machine but when the system starts post there is no vidio signal and my monitor says that the vidio cable is not attached,
I can hear windows load from listning to opining sound it make but still no vidio! if i push the power off switch i can hear the system shut down and power off,
What up did i just blow my $400.00 MOBO.
I have put both cards in another mobo and thay work fine.
can someone help me please
__________________
maxumus extream ddr3
intell qx6850 @3.4 9x400
corsair 4gig 1333 @ 1600htz
2x ati 4870x2 778core 965mem
pc power&cooling 750
soundmax onboard soudcard
vista ulti64bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 02:46 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Clear your cmos and if that doesn't work try using only one card.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 02:56 PM
ebcogs's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you very much, the asus mobo has a very nice clr cmos button on it and i tryed pressing it several times to no avail,
I have also tryed both cards one at a time with the same results no vidio signal.
only thing that changed in the computer was that about one hour befor the crash i had just installed CCC 9.9 and it was working fine up untill the crash.
__________________
maxumus extream ddr3
intell qx6850 @3.4 9x400
corsair 4gig 1333 @ 1600htz
2x ati 4870x2 778core 965mem
pc power&cooling 750
soundmax onboard soudcard
vista ulti64bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 02:58 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

First, welcome to HWC. It can be 2 things. first, mobo. Second PSU cannot handle both card anymore. First, try to clear Cmos, then try change PSU if it does nothing. I`m sorry.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 03:15 PM
ebcogs's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you martin metal 88,
I have another psu at my friends house that i can use to test, I also removed the battery from cmos and still no vido.
i will post back later and tell if the psu fixed or not. THanks to all who help.
__________________
maxumus extream ddr3
intell qx6850 @3.4 9x400
corsair 4gig 1333 @ 1600htz
2x ati 4870x2 778core 965mem
pc power&cooling 750
soundmax onboard soudcard
vista ulti64bit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 03:16 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,966
Default

sounds to me that your crossfire is looking at 2 moniters .....reason no video cause your moniter is configured for secondary......need to hook another moniter and setup primary

Note: the most closest video output to the back panel header is usally is the primary port
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 03:30 PM
ebcogs's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I will try that also, will it mater if one is vga and other dvi?
__________________
maxumus extream ddr3
intell qx6850 @3.4 9x400
corsair 4gig 1333 @ 1600htz
2x ati 4870x2 778core 965mem
pc power&cooling 750
soundmax onboard soudcard
vista ulti64bit
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 12:31 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,966
Default

dvi,vga per card np, but if cable and card don't match can use an adapter
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 12:38 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
sounds to me that your crossfire is looking at 2 moniters .....reason no video cause your moniter is configured for secondary......need to hook another moniter and setup primary

Note: the most closest video output to the back panel header is usally is the primary port

This basically have no sens. At the mobo post cross-fire is still disabled the the moment driver come in at windows start.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 01:57 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,966
Default

try using 2 moniter to configure your video display asignment in windows
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Richmond plane crash Phobia Off Topic 5 July 11, 2009 10:47 AM
Random crash in game :( WolfBane Troubleshooting 11 June 10, 2009 03:45 PM
Weird Crash Issue ChuckleBrother Troubleshooting 8 May 25, 2009 07:37 PM
Linux first to crash :( Shadowed O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 10, 2007 08:01 AM
Vista Crash?? Marzguitarz CPU's and Motherboards 5 February 3, 2007 11:53 PM