Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 03:14 PM
catguy's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: High Level, Alberta
Posts: 11
Default EVGA 680i fault codes??

I have an EVGA 680i mobo (a couple of years old). A few days ago, I noticed the digital display showing FF.
Does any one have any ideas on what this might be refering to?
Thanks

Gordon Steeves,
High Level, Alberta
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 03:20 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

The FF isn't good. Check your 4 pin and 24 pin power connections to the board, and make sure the bios chip is seated properly in the socket. If it still comes up with the FF, call EVGA. If the 680i has life time warranty (a lot of EVGA's products do), you'll get a new board after shipping that one back.

This is assuming the board is not booting. My EVGA board only shows FF if there's a major issue. If it is booting, then it's the end of boot cycle display.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 03:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

FF Means fully functional, it's the last Code that SHOULD be shown. If it just sits there, try the above things mentioned. Otherwise you're SOL and need to RMA
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 06:34 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

The FF stands for 'Fully Fu(k3d'...

Make sure all the power connectors and signal lines are fully removed...take out the chip and the ram then drive over it with your car.

Don't bother RMA'ng it ,no sense throwing good money after bad.The 680i is the worst POS chipset ever made ....F$%!%$#&**

-----

ooops was I ranting again ?

Consider yourself lucky you got 2 years outta it.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 03:25 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC!
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

Well, if my book is any indication FF is the hex code for boot, if the display stops anywhere else then you would read that code and find the problem. The Fs are not letters in this case but numbers, 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,a,b,c,d,e,f for the hexadecimal count. Also would be 1111 1111 in binary for all you geeks out there! So, the question would be, does the computer boot? If so, then it should be just fine.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 03:28 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

FF = Finally Failed
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 04:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
The FF stands for 'Fully Fu(k3d'...

Make sure all the power connectors and signal lines are fully removed...take out the chip and the ram then drive over it with your car.

Don't bother RMA'ng it ,no sense throwing good money after bad.The 680i is the worst POS chipset ever made ....F$%!%$#&**

-----

ooops was I ranting again ?

Consider yourself lucky you got 2 years outta it.

LOL I just watched your thread's videos like yesterday. I can see that your anger and frustration is the type that lasts for a life time! Perhaps you should be offering 680i funeral services.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 05:40 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
FF = Finally Failed
Yes , that was the equation.

Win. +1 . I knew there was a better code.



-----

Yea the 680i was a bitter pill for me....Had some fun in the end tho !!

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] NEW evga 680i motherboard oksir Buy/Sell & Trade 34 September 9, 2009 04:22 PM
evga 680i , which one ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 28, 2007 11:03 AM
Review of the EVGA 680i by TechGage Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 11, 2007 05:18 AM
e6400 @ 3.84Ghz evga 680i Babrbarossa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 April 15, 2007 11:14 AM
EVGA 680i: review by Bjorn3D Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 3 March 23, 2007 10:08 AM