Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 01:54 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default BIOS Flash (EDIT: Is it my RAM?)

My BIOS version (ASUS Rampage Exreme x48) is still on the first version they came out with. I have been having some BSOD errors, quite a few actually, and ASUS said, after telling them my hardware, to update my BIOS. They didnt tell me which one to do, so my question to you guys is...

Will upgrading to the lateset BIOS include everything inbetween? I mean, will BIOS update 1202 include, 1201, 901, etc etc?

EDIT: So I flashed it to 1202. BSOD here, there, evreywhere. (memory_management, IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL etc etc). I than did the thing I didnt yet do... Pull out the memory.

I did looked in the manual and found which stick to pull and... not a single BSOD! However, when I opened the little "retention clips" on the stick, it kind of just fell into my hand. Maybe it wasnt in all the way and that was causing errors? But my BIOS recognized it.

What would be the best way to test it out?
__________________
DEAD CA$H

Last edited by AmuseMe; September 17, 2009 at 06:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 02:35 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

It should.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 02:35 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,502

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
My BIOS version (ASUS Rampage Exreme x48) is still on the first version they came out with. I have been having some BSOD errors, quite a few actually, and ASUS said, after telling them my hardware, to update my BIOS. They didnt tell me which one to do, so my question to you guys is...

Will upgrading to the lateset BIOS include everything inbetween? I mean, will BIOS update 1202 include, 1201, 901, etc etc?
Normally yes. Bios updates are (99%) always forward, and build off the old code. The only exception to this is when they find a bug with the code implemented in the previous build, and change it.

Get the latest BIOS thats stable (ie: If it was released today/last week, dont use that one)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 02:39 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

use the ASUS Navigation Wizard to make sure you have correct bios and drivers for your MB ( note see 775 and 1366 versions of Rampage Extreme)

YES current and correct bios update covers all back versions for your MB

don't use the Beta verson for is not global tested an cert released
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 03:00 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

the BSOD could be that 9550 E0, best if you flash that bad boy. listen to the others, they know what there doing

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 06:36 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

(Just updated original post)
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 06:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
My BIOS version (ASUS Rampage Exreme x48) is still on the first version they came out with. I have been having some BSOD errors, quite a few actually, and ASUS said, after telling them my hardware, to update my BIOS. They didnt tell me which one to do, so my question to you guys is...

Will upgrading to the lateset BIOS include everything inbetween? I mean, will BIOS update 1202 include, 1201, 901, etc etc?

EDIT: So I flashed it to 1202. BSOD here, there, evreywhere. (memory_management, IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL etc etc). I than did the thing I didnt yet do... Pull out the memory.

I did looked in the manual and found which stick to pull and... not a single BSOD! However, when I opened the little "retention clips" on the stick, it kind of just fell into my hand. Maybe it wasnt in all the way and that was causing errors? But my BIOS recognized it.

What would be the best way to test it out?
that BSOD of IRQL_NOT_LESS is 90% of the time memory problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 06:31 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
that BSOD of IRQL_NOT_LESS is 90% of the time memory problems.
Should I put that stick back in a run a RAM test? If so which one? Also, can I RMA the one stick, or will Mushkin want both?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 06:53 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
Should I put that stick back in a run a RAM test? If so which one? Also, can I RMA the one stick, or will Mushkin want both?
Absolutely test your memory and that would be up to mushkin but generally they do want both.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 07:07 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

So, what mem. diagnostic should I use? Memtest?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI BIOS FLASH 3870 x 2 Shredder Guides & How-to's 0 March 31, 2009 11:06 AM
how do you flash the bios on a gpu? Gameplaywarrior Guides & How-to's 8 October 20, 2008 04:41 PM
Safest BIOS Flash Method? mattydies CPU's and Motherboards 11 May 20, 2008 06:31 PM
Help with bios hot flash ebdoradz CPU's and Motherboards 0 February 7, 2008 10:52 AM
Bios Flash, Please Help !! Unklmo Troubleshooting 5 October 22, 2007 04:55 PM