Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 04:49 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default CPU Temperature Differences

Yesterday I built my latest rig and I installed the Vendetta II heat sink on my E6400. I've overclocked it to 2.4GHz (not a big step, but I haven't had time for it). When I'm checking my temps I'm seeing two different numbers for the CPU.

RealTemp is reporting 40C idle and 86C load
EasyTune6 (Gigabytes System tuner) is reporting 35C idle and 70C load

I was just wondering why there are inconsistencies? Which one is more correct? Are those temps too high?
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 05:08 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silent1mezzo View Post
Yesterday I built my latest rig and I installed the Vendetta II heat sink on my E6400. I've overclocked it to 2.4GHz (not a big step, but I haven't had time for it). When I'm checking my temps I'm seeing two different numbers for the CPU.

RealTemp is reporting 40C idle and 86C load
EasyTune6 (Gigabytes System tuner) is reporting 35C idle and 70C load

I was just wondering why there are inconsistencies? Which one is more correct? Are those temps too high?
Usually the software that comes with mobo...Easy Tune or Asus Probe and the like are most often incorrect. Third party apps like Core Temp and Real Temp are usually considered more accurate. From what I've read the majority of users with this chip consider 60 to 65 the highest safe temperature for load. That said.... either Real Temp is giving you wrong readings or your Hsf is not mounted correctly or thermal paste is not applied well enough to give you a good heat transfer. Hope this helps.

Ps: Here is a link to how to get good coverage of thermal paste for this cooler.


http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...1&limitstart=5
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd

Last edited by cdn_Madrach; September 4, 2009 at 05:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 05:12 AM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

EDIT: OH NOES! You ninja!

This may be a software related thing showing your temps. Some software (not sure on these) adds a slight bit to the temp to attempt and emulate the idea of having a slightly warm ambient tempurature. I would base your info from the first set of temps for this test so you don't overheat your CPU to death.
And I would also say that I do not like to see anything above 60C on load, but I'm just the kinda guy that hates hot things. Unless it's a hot woman. As in attractive. Back on topic:
How did you apply the TIM to this HSF? Are you using a fan or going for passive cooling?

If you're using the fan than I would seriously consider attempting a re-mount of the HSF IMO. Also make sure there is really good contact between the CPU and HSF. Not enough pressure to warp the board, but enough to hold it on nice and tight with as little space in between as possible.
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 05:31 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Real Temp - CPU temperature monitoring
Core Temp
This is all the temp software you should use. JMO
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 05:53 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default

I ordered and installed the back plate for the Vendetta II. Everything installed idle is 25-30C load is 50C

Much, much better.
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 06:12 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

damn... those are reeally good temps your getting... what vcore are you at, and did u do any mods?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 06:46 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default

1.44V

No mods, just Vendetta II (fan is pushing) and Lancool PC-K62 (two fans pulling)
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 07:09 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

HOLY SMOKES!!! 1.44 vcore and your getting below 30C idle!? LOL! Whats your ambient temp? Heh, I have the vendetta 2 with my q9550 and my vcore is at 1.28 and im getting like 33C at idle and 55 at LOAD, lol.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 09:13 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default

Ambient's around 25C
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A little confused in differences on cards Shadowmeph Video Cards 9 May 4, 2009 10:46 PM
SLI Temp differences Toronto122 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 April 3, 2009 06:52 AM
Big differences between core temps Skruch CPU's and Motherboards 5 January 25, 2009 06:34 PM
temperature differences between cores? misterd CPU's and Motherboards 11 July 31, 2008 06:24 PM
CPU Temperature E8400 3.0ghz CaptainSnake CPU's and Motherboards 13 May 17, 2008 04:22 PM