Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 07:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 45
Default Will Not Post.

Bought new motherboard. ASUS M4A78 PRO.
Bought new CPU. AMD Phenom II X3 720.
Installed new components. No post, no beeps, no signal to monitor.
Reseated everything. No post.
Restarted several times. POST!
Had to update BIOS to 1303 to get any stability.
System locked up, then BSoDed, when speakers were plugged in.
Tried powering up system without speakers. No post.
Reseated everything (again). POST!
Tilted computer up straight. No post. ???
Put computer back down flat. POST!
Went to store and bought more headers and screws. Cleaned out case, reseated everything, firmly. No post.
Cleared CMOS. No post.

Fans start, lights start, drives will spin (or open), but it will not give me any video or post even in the most minimal of setups.

Help?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 07:34 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Remove all components from case onto flat non-conductive surface and try again.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 07:42 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

+1
It sounds like something is shorting.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:10 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I/O plate support on a USB maybe? this happen many many time even for me-_- have toast my first Ep45-Ud3p like that...Was feeling like a dumb...

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks for the quick replies guys. I'm currently laying on the floor beside it, and I have rigged it up on some cutting boards outside of my case, but I'm still not getting anything at all. Any more ideas? The store I bought it from apparently has no (??) RMA policy, but I'm not sure if it's the mobo, or the cpu at this point. I should add that I did get a chance to run prime95 when it was posting and there were no problems during the short hour or so tests I ran, however when I tried to O.C. the 720 it started bsoding at any setting above the default 2.8Ghz.

Standing by for responses, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:30 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

same thing happened with me. memory issues most likely.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 45
Default

I have tested several memory configurations with different sticks
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:48 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Can you try the setup with a different psu?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:57 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

hm try this remove CPU or memory and Boot! if board don't cry sorry she is dead, if yes there is a chance for you! Also take a look to be sure you don't plug the PCI-e 8pin in the ATX 8pin of the mobo.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Can you try the setup with a different psu?
This thought had crossed my mind. I will try to find one.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not sure where to post this Phobia Peripherals 7 February 19, 2009 06:58 PM
No post problem - please help! Malam Troubleshooting 5 January 2, 2009 12:27 PM
Need help: NO POST miggs78 Troubleshooting 9 October 17, 2008 10:01 AM
No POST miggs78 Troubleshooting 8 August 21, 2008 07:40 PM
Post your E8400 oc's here Bazman Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 77 February 21, 2008 02:43 PM