Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 04:18 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default OCZ Throttle FlashDrive issues

so i just got a new OCZ throttle eSATA drive and so i took it out of the box, and pop it on the eSATA port and... not detected. I then tried the rear usb port on it and... Detects it fine. I have the eSATA port hooked up on my tower so it should be detecting.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 05:23 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

Check the fine print:

OCZ Technology | Products | Flash Media | OCZ Throttle eSATA Flash Drive

The eSATA on the front of the tower is connected to an internal SATA which is not a powered eSATA.

Here is a good review:

OCZ Throttle 16gb eSATA Flash Drive
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 05:35 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwayne View Post
Check the fine print:

OCZ Technology | Products | Flash Media | OCZ Throttle eSATA Flash Drive

The eSATA on the front of the tower is connected to an internal SATA which is not a powered eSATA.

Here is a good review:

OCZ Throttle 16gb eSATA Flash Drive

yea i fixed that... if not a powered line you must attach the USB to to power it, its all workin... installing XP on it now
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 05:56 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
yea i fixed that... if not a powered line you must attach the USB to to power it, its all workin... installing XP on it now
Cool looking device. I can't see powered eSATA up front on the case any time soon, but backplane ones, sure.

Good luck with the new toy!
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 06:29 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwayne View Post
Cool looking device. I can't see powered eSATA up front on the case any time soon, but backplane ones, sure.

Good luck with the new toy!
the HAF 932 has 1 eSATA on the front
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 06:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 183
Default

i assume esata drives need power via the usb
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 3.8GHz
Mushkin Ascent 1x2gb
Asus P5N-D
BFG Geforce 8800GT OC SLI (folding issues...)
WD 500GB
NZXT Apollo
OCZ Vendetta 2 w/ Bolt-thru kit +Scythe S-Flex F
Syncmaster T220, Razer Deathadder, Lycosa Mirror Edition, X-240 speakers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 07:47 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

Yes, the eSATA connector is on the front, but it just hooks up to an internal SATA port. There is no additional power hook up to make it a powered eSATA connector. I found a write up about an MSI motherboard combining USB power with the eSATA data transfer and power to create a powered eSATA port.

MSI - Power eSATA
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA-no throttle martin_metal_88 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 August 17, 2009 09:51 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD, OCZ 3GB Triple Channel RAM Dave510 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 May 25, 2009 03:58 PM
Bootup Issues?!?!? HELP!!! CasheKicker Troubleshooting 16 April 5, 2009 08:36 PM
[FS] OCZ Reaper HPC, OCZ Platinum Rev2, WINTEC Ampx Spawne32 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 November 28, 2008 11:35 AM
OCZ Vindicator: Heatpipe Tower Cooling from OCZ by Anandtech Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 6, 2007 09:45 AM