Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 09:39 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default Memory Parity Error HELP!!!

HEy HWC,

My bro's laptop recently BSOD and displayed this message:

Memory parity Error.

What is this error and what can i do? The message appears at random.

Right now i'm doing a Hard Drive diagnostic w/ Sea Tools.

Specs of Laptop:

Intel T5300 @ 1.72 GHz
2 X 1 GB of SODIMM DDR2 (Different brands)
ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 using 8.12 Modified for notebooks (Mobility Modder - DriverHeaven.net)
Hitachi 160GB HD
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 09:46 AM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

Was there a change recently? Did you add a stick of RAM? Check the BIOS for memory settings and run memtest or something similar.

Here is a link to MS for some help too

Hardware Malfunction Results in System Error Message
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 10:28 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

To Dwayne: I haven't changed anything since i got the laptop. Although there are 2 different brands of RAM in the ram slots. Both are 1 GB modules but one is generic OEM stuff and the other one is Hitachi.

All i know that this error has something to do w/ memory. I've done about 5 passes of the Short DST Passes for Sea Tools for the hard drive. And later i'll stress the video card. Finally, i'll remove each individual ram sticks and run Memtest.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 11:34 AM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

Well, as the MS knowledge base says, it isn't always the RAM but it is the most likely culprit. Run memtest with both installed and only remove one if there are problems. I hate to say it, but hope for problems because those ones that go away, the intermittent faults, are a biotch to track down!
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 03:34 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I'm running memtest right now and i've run OCCT Graphics stresser with 0 errors.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 04:21 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

That's an odd error. I would doubt you're using ECC memory? Does your BIOS have for a selection "use ECC memory" or something to that effect? If it's on it should most likely be off.... I doubt you have ecc ram
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 04:25 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I've done these tests:

Memtest (standard): No errors
Sea Tool (7 passes on SDT): No errors
OCCT Graphic Stresser (30 mins): No errors

What else can i stress or do?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 04:38 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

pull the hitatchi out and see if it still happens.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 05:43 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

but i don't have an extra 2.5 inch hard drive... and why should i do that?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 06:07 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
but i don't have an extra 2.5 inch hard drive... and why should i do that?
Laptops can be a lot more finicky with memory and perhaps its just doing something it doesn't like?

I'd do the same with the other too.

Test them both.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Memory owners: Try your memory at lower Volts sswilson RAM 0 October 24, 2008 07:36 AM
Mystery error . . . NyteOwl Troubleshooting 4 September 6, 2008 06:59 PM
Video Card memory 512 Available video memory 1268 mb? TwystedMonkey Troubleshooting 4 August 24, 2008 06:07 PM
Pricing Error?? oldbetang RAM 37 February 14, 2008 10:41 PM
How do I fix Memory parity error? mrlie3 Troubleshooting 8 June 13, 2007 11:42 AM