Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 09:46 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default URGENT: Recover hard drive?

Well I have this old computer here that I was working on, and it BSOD'd after the hard drive starting clicking (click of death I suppose). Now of course it won't boot up or anything, hard drive still spins, clicks for a bit, then stops clicking but seems to still be spinning.

So anyway to get this thing running, even just long enough to pull everything off it?

It's a 40GB Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 8.

I'm sure as hell am going to have a hard time explaining that to a guy that barely speaks English...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 10:23 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default

Data recovery is iffy at best and generally costs a lot of money...

No idea whether this works but Freeze your hard drive to recover data: Myth or reality? - [Geeks are Sexy] technology news :P Worth a try, and would make for an epic post if it works.

G'luck with the disk...
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 10:26 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

Click of death, that can't be good. I would recommend first seeing if you can access the drive having it mounted in another computer, if you can that's great. If not, you'll have to look into data recovery software (which i can speak from first hand experience is not even 50% successful) or tell him hdd is pouched.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 10:28 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I've read about the freezer stuff, some say yes, some say no.

Funny though, that's the same drive (or looks identical) to the one I have here that's dead. This is a Compaq though, not a Dell.

Got nothing more to lose though, so I guess I'll toss it in the freezer overnight...

EDIT: Already tried in another PC. Shows as 0MB in the BIOS and the BIOS says some error about the drive. AFAIK the data recovery programs only work if the drive is still accessible.

Just going to be hard to say "Sorry, all your data is gone, and it wasn't my fault."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 10:32 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

She's pooched.

It's an old drive, tell him it was on it's last legs anyways.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 11:03 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Spinrite can repair bad sectors and help you recover data if possible. Very slow tool but very effective.

GRC|SpinRite 5.0 to 6.0
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 11:18 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdn_Madrach View Post
Spinrite can repair bad sectors and help you recover data if possible. Very slow tool but very effective.

GRC|SpinRite 5.0 to 6.0
Yup know of it, but like I said, the drive isn't recognizable as it stands.

Hard drive is in the freezer right now since I can't see it doing any more harm If I could grab all his documents and stuff he had on the desktop, I'd have an easier time breaking the news IMO since I doubt he has anything backed up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 12:18 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Well I tried it after about 2h in the freezer, drive is detectable somewhat now. BIOS reads the proper name and size, but Windows can't access it as of yet.

Going to go for the 24h now I guess. I have some hope at least.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 12:20 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

You the recovery tools or reparing tools that Seagate offers?

Have you tried accessing the hard drive with it installed on another computer? Like don't use that hard drive to boot up the OS and everything, just use it to get the data back.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 12:24 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Well I tried it after about 2h in the freezer, drive is detectable somewhat now. BIOS reads the proper name and size, but Windows can't access it as of yet.

Going to go for the 24h now I guess. I have some hope at least.
If that works I think you owe me a beer for finding the article I hope it works man, g'luck...
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Try to recover info from an ext2 dying HDD Arinoth Storage 6 August 2, 2009 07:07 PM
rebuilding my hard drive tzetsin Troubleshooting 17 June 20, 2009 05:46 PM
Possible hard drive fail? element291 Troubleshooting 11 April 30, 2009 09:40 AM
WTB: Laptop Notebook 2.5" Hard Drive SATA 160gb or higher *URGENT* Jamz Buy/Sell & Trade 2 November 19, 2008 06:56 AM
Hard drive WolfBane Storage 8 July 24, 2008 12:08 PM