Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 03:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 41
Default Computer stuttering

EDIT: I thought I had it solved and now not so much...
I'm thinking right now it is my GPU is not receiving enough power as the 3 red LEDs are flashing i bought a eah4890 from asus has a 6pin connector and 8pin both are plugged in and it worked last night and worked once today so the card can't be fried... (I only got the card last night btw...) Rest of the info below still applies.

Hey

I'm not really sure how to explain this and I have no idea what's wrong but...

My computer won't turn on, I've checked all the wiring and everything seems to be fine. the comp was working fine last night, i get home from work and not working anymore. Basically when my computer turns on it seems like nothing is receiving constant power. The fans and lights and everything seem to be getting flashes of power turning off and on off and on, but constantly doing so. So, it's not like it turns off and turns back on but you can see the lights just flashing on and off very quickly and the fans are speeding up and slowing down. Just stays in that state.

All my other electronics are working fine... Monitor seems to be working...

What would be the root of this problem? I almost feel like saying the power supply is feeding power in AC current, but that's just weird...

Last edited by DragonFlame; August 13, 2009 at 06:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 03:52 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Well I've never encountered that, but my first suspicion would be the PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 04:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 41
Default

See i would agree but its a corsair 750tx and it's just weird...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 04:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

maybe try reset CMOS.
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 04:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay51 View Post
maybe try reset CMOS.
Thanks Jay
Amazingly that worked, i have honestly no idea why or how but cool thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 05:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

glad it worked for you :)
sometimes a reset is all it takes
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 05:22 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

Glad to hear it worked for you, i had the same problems and symptons and eventually turned into a dead psu, glad it was only the cmos reset
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 06:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 41
Default

Ok i lied, it started up once was running well for a few min decided to reboot and now it won't work anymore again.

I'm thinking it's not enough power to my GPU. It's a Asus 4890 that has a 6pin and 8pin pci-e connector and i connected those from my corsair 750tx. Is there something i need to do in order to like encourage the thing to put out more power? lol... I tried to reset cmos again, still a no go. Kind of stumped...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 06:25 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I still think PSU.

But anyway, no, you can't make the PSU put out more power. It will supply all the power it can until it fails to do so based entirely on demand.

I don't know much about ATI's offerings, but...

... I haven't heard of a single card yet that would brown out a healthy 750W.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 06:28 PM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

I ran into this same issue with my brother's PC a while back. Are you using a socket AM2 board? I found that the heatsink was moving on my brothers CPU because the plastic mounting clips had broken, well one of them. Purchased a new bolt on HSF and issue resolved. Just a thought
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEw Computer Crysisfan11 New Builds 35 May 21, 2009 08:15 PM
4870X2 micro stuttering Jim Video Cards 41 August 21, 2008 04:24 PM
New rebuild, OS stuttering howettl Troubleshooting 26 July 17, 2008 08:58 PM
New computer belgolas CPU's and Motherboards 23 September 20, 2007 06:59 PM
My new computer. Come see please :P Song CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 15, 2007 09:25 AM