Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2009, 01:39 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I would never try to Boot up a Board without a CPU Heat Sink...even for a only a few minutes / sec.....??!!

Anyhow, don't you have to have a CPU Heat sink Fan oplugged into the CPU Fan Header on the Mobo to get a proper Boot sequence?
No. How do people on water boot up?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2009, 10:47 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

I'll get my buddy when he gets back to test out my Q6600. He got extra TIM he can gimme should I only need a fan. If the CPU doesn't become hot (More than 75C), IMO it's not fried.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 09:17 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
No. How do people on water boot up?
No idea...no WC (yet) here..I would assume you'd connect all you WC loops, power up pump to test for leaks then power up (boot) the Mobo....or I suppose you could throw a HSF assembly on the CPU and Bench Test it first.....I'll be reseraching if I go that route!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 09:43 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
No idea...no WC (yet) here..I would assume you'd connect all you WC loops, power up pump to test for leaks then power up (boot) the Mobo....or I suppose you could throw a HSF assembly on the CPU and Bench Test it first.....I'll be reseraching if I go that route!!
Hrm, I wasnt very clear in my statement: What I was saying is that people on water dont have CPU fans, or a device plugged into the cpu fan connection (normally). We use molex connectors, fan controllers, etc.

Thus, his issue of 'no post' wouldnt be caused by a lack of a CPU fan connection.

Water is great
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 12:10 PM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
No. How do people on water boot up?
Magic booting power?

*nods*
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 12:19 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
No. How do people on water boot up?
we jump the 24pin connector to power the pump and bleed the system. to the op, there is a very good chance your chip is dead.

edit; just saw your reply. Yes, some boards may have issues booting up with no fan on the cpu connector, but i haven't seen this in a long time...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 12:20 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safearus View Post
Magic booting power?

*nods*
Quick guys, get him before he spreads the secret.I know I haven't seen him in the super-secret WC section.

ImmaPC, if you're in the Surrey area and want to test your Q6600, I've got a "spare parts" HTPC you could try it in. Gigabyte P35 board with an E5200 in it, it would only take 5 minutes to pull the heatsink off and change the CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 03:13 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I'm taking him a Q6600 cooler that is NIB. Is he still unsure if his Q6600 even works? I'm wondering if I should bring a system as well?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 09:47 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Well, as it turns out, the heatsink (oh so appreciated for and kindly donated by Perineum) didn't have any affect. Chip is probably dead. *sigh* that's convenient...

I'm heading to my friend's house tomorrow (he lives just a few blocks down from me) and I will test it out there. Will putting a damaged CPU in a good mobo damage the mobo?

Perineum, I should have checked up on this thread and read your last post but I was out almost all day today. Still, I greatly appreciate you delivering me an NIB heatsink...Can I still use it for when I get a new CPU? =D
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2009, 01:48 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Sure, keep it if you need it....

... and no, in my experience putting a dead cpu in a motherboard won't hurt a motherboard. It just won't do anything.

...... however, a suspected dead psu and a working motherboard is not such a great idea.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
half hight vid card with half hight back plate tzetsin Video Cards 11 June 17, 2009 08:00 PM
Just finished my 1st build Dogger1 New Builds 21 February 12, 2009 09:38 AM
new build, black screen on boot UberMoo Troubleshooting 11 February 7, 2009 05:09 PM
System fails to boot up (GPU or HD?) Matty D Troubleshooting 4 May 3, 2008 11:40 AM
Microsoft Fails PC Gamers? sswilson Reviews & Articles from the Web 7 June 8, 2007 06:37 PM