Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 10:48 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default not sure if this is my mb or a windows 7 thing but I get BSOD

My mother board is acting strange, when ever I shut down and start up I get BSOD.
A couple of days ago I shut down and removed 4 gb ram to see if I would notice any difference in windows 7 64 bit , When I restarted I got the BSOD, I tried 6 more times and still BSOD.
I went into the bios to check things and the only thing I noticed was the v and timings set for the ram , I reset everything and my pc booted with out a problem.

Yesterday I was working on my HTPC andI needed to use the monitor off of this pc , I shut down unplugged the monitor and plugged it into my HTPC ,did what need to be down on the HTPC, I then plugged it back into the none HTPC , fired it up and the same thing happened, BSOD, I rebooted 3 more times then on the forth I went into the bios, this time did nothing, I exited bios, rebooted and had no problems with the BSOD.
I first noticed something similar on my other windows 7 OS ( on a separate partition) when ever I shut down my pc for even one minute and then tryed to boot I would get the BSOD.
I am wondering is this an motherboard problem , in that when the motherboard cools down it acts up, but then by retrying to boot up the Motherboard , the motherboard then warms up to a point that it actually works.

Last edited by Shadowmeph; August 10, 2009 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 10:54 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Um....first fix up your post...

I'm using Windows 7 and I'm not getting any BSODs. Check your RAM by running Memtest, and run stress test programs like OCCT or Prime95 to check for system instability. Also make sure that your temperatures are fine and your PSU isn't crapping out or anything like that. That's about all I can think of based on your post.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 12:33 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,731
Default

By the way I'm reading this post, you're only able to load Windows after you've gone in and out of the BIOS? Might be an issue with the BIOS, or saving BIOS settings?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 12:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Could you post the exact error message and codes during your BSOD ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 12:46 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarKStar View Post
Could you post the exact error message and codes during your BSOD ?
um is that saved to a log and if so where would that log be located?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finaly did the right thing ToXic Video Cards 6 August 10, 2009 05:30 PM
See any thing i can make better ? WolfBane Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 July 6, 2009 09:00 PM
The thing that bugs me the most. HermesĄ˘ Gaming 35 December 24, 2008 09:30 PM
HELP! Windows won't load, BSOD! donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 23 December 11, 2007 08:35 PM
The hall thing started from a cd... omgwtf Off Topic 6 November 15, 2007 04:48 PM