Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 09:49 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Simpson View Post
There are two HDDs in this box. Drive C is for XP and apps, drive D has everything else, including RAR files and ISOs. Which one to uninstall? Or is it both? And will they really be safely re-installed upon re-boot? I'm pretty hesitant to do this to somebody else's PC.

Thanks!
You don't want to uninstall the hard drive, rather the ide primary controller

I've heard varying results of manually setting it to PIO reboot and manually set it to DMA, but I've always uninstalled it and rebooted.

It will default to PIO if there are over 6 UDMA errors in a given time ( I may have the term wrong there, I'm sure someone will jump in and help out if so) Make sure to check the ribbon cable and make sure it's an 80 wire and not the 40 wire.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 08:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Grinder,

Per the original invoice, mobo is "Asus P4S800-MX, socket 478, SIS661FX 800FSB, DDR, VGA, ATA133". I assume the "sis" listed here is what you're referring to.

3 of 7,

Thanks for the info, I'll give it a crack. After re-booting, will XP set it to DMA?

DS.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 09:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Uninstalled, re-booted, XP re-installed. Settings are the same as they previously were. Ugh!

DS.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 09:28 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

is it a 40 wire ribbon cable? Sometimes the cable can cause this.
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 09:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

I'll have to open it up to check. I'm checking the IDE HDD ribbon cable, right?

DS.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 09:47 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

yuppers. It wouldn't hurt to check the date on the drive as well, it may be erroring out.
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 09:40 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 822

My System Specs

Default

a checkdisk on the drive will show if it's erroring out, but the OS is not hanging so i dont think that would be the issue.

The ribbon cable is an excellent thing to check!!! The wires on the ribbon cable should be FINER than the floppy drive ribbon cable. If they look about the same thickness then you need to change the cables.

It is also a good idea to make sure you have the latest IDE driver from the SiS web site (or latest chipset drivers from Asus will do as well).
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2009, 07:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Great thanks to you dudes! After opening the box, I could see that the two IDE HDDs were indeed connected to an 80-pin cable. Figuring I had little to lose, I swapped the connections to the mobo of the HDDs and disc drives. Although I'm pretty sure the mobo manual indicates that the HDDs are now connected to the secondary IDE connector (slot? channel?), the PC now extracts a RARed ISO in about 4 minutes, and burns the ISO at 4x in 15 minutes. Exactly what I was after.

Current Primary IDE channel settings: Device 0, Transfer Mode: DMA if available, Current Transfer Mode: Ultra DMA Mode 4
Device 1, Transfer Mode: DMA if available, Current Transfer Mode: PIO Mode

Current Secondary IDE channel settings: Device 0, Transfer Mode: DMA if available, Current Transfer Mode: Ultra DMA 5
Device 1, Transfer Mode: DMA if available, Current Transfer Mode: Ultra DMA 5

Thanks again for all your help. Cheers!

DS.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 03:07 PM
JimboToronto's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 173

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Simpson View Post
There are two HDDs in this box. Drive C is for XP and apps, drive D has everything else, including RAR files and ISOs. Which one to uninstall? Or is it both? And will they really be safely re-installed upon re-boot? I'm pretty hesitant to do this to somebody else's PC.

Thanks!
To reset DMA, you don't uninstall the drives themselves, you uninstall the controllers.

Perhaps this guide would help.

Enable DMA mode in Windows XP

Don't worry, at worst it'll simply revert to PIO.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conveting an older pc into a HTPC Shadowmeph HTPC Systems & Software 10 May 2, 2009 10:50 PM
4870x2 bottleneck kyle_L Video Cards 8 February 25, 2009 07:07 PM
Need assistance for my older system!! p3dro Troubleshooting 11 February 11, 2009 02:34 PM
[WTB] Older Pentium M cpu's mklym Buy/Sell & Trade 2 January 11, 2009 09:19 PM
Can't read older cds no_pulse Storage 1 December 13, 2008 07:42 PM