Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 11:46 AM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default +5Vsb

ok, so i'm piecing my new system together, put every thing in and make all my connections except for my proc and ram.
turn on the psu, system fires (lights and fans) and immediatly shuts down. the message reads as "System off or in standby mode, PSU output +5Vsb only."
does this mean there isn't enough power draw ?
i haven't put in the proc yet as i'm cautiosly ignorant of how exactly i should be proceeding. i figured i'd try things out before i run the risk of frying the proc.
or should i just be throwing all my parts in the box, hit the switch and cross my fingers?

thoughts and recommendations
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 11:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Where are you seeing this message? Does the PSU have a display of some form?

You won't get any idea of how things are going to work without the proc in the system.... I'm surprised you got anything. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 06:05 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

the psu is an Enermax Galaxy DXX .
colored light on the back of psu, and assorted beeping indicate the status.
"orange" light and no beeps indicates the above mentioned status.

so, do you suggest i go ahead and install the proc and ram or is something already fubar ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 06:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

The enermax DXX series can be a bit finicky as to how they are plugged in. thanks to it's 5 12v rails.

What do ya got plugged in where? IS there a molex connector plugged into the mobo? IF there is, this is your problem...you must use secondary 8-pin cpu connector with the white molex adapter for boards that require power this way.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 06:15 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
The enermax DXX series can be a bit finicky as to how they are plugged in. thanks to it's 5 12v rails.

What do ya got plugged in where? IS there a molex connector plugged into the mobo? IF there is, this is your problem...you must use secondary 8-pin cpu connector with the white molex adapter for boards that require power this way.
I have never ever needed to plug the molex onto the motherboard its unecessary.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 06:21 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
The enermax DXX series can be a bit finicky as to how they are plugged in. thanks to it's 5 12v rails.

What do ya got plugged in where? IS there a molex connector plugged into the mobo? IF there is, this is your problem...you must use secondary 8-pin cpu connector with the white molex adapter for boards that require power this way.
mobo plugged , two hd's (sata connection), optical drive (sata here again) .
the only molex connections are the case fans to one of the modular cables.
no molex direct to mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 06:27 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unklmo View Post
mobo plugged , two hd's (sata connection), optical drive (sata here again) .
the only molex connections are the case fans to one of the modular cables.
no molex direct to mobo.
Does your mobo have a 4 or 8 pin atx 12v connection and a 20 or 24 pin power connector?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 06:59 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

24 and 8 pin
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 07:27 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

You need to install ALL the parts into the PC to even begin to test if everything is OK. Not having the processor and ram in will not let the motherboard post properly if at all.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 07:58 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
You need to install ALL the parts into the PC to even begin to test if everything is OK. Not having the processor and ram in will not let the motherboard post properly if at all.
i realize this.
my initial question was if anyone knew why the psu was shutting down immediatly. what does the +5Vsb mean, and is it bad.
forgive my ignoance on the matter but the little bit i know about pc's is self-taught.
and i'm a lousy teacher !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes