Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 08:03 PM
Somed00d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 69
Default

bascially you can't tell if anything is wrong. the motherboard is designed to run with the cpu installed, since there is no cpu it can't power up and your psu is just telling you that.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.2ghz (965 chipset holding me back)
DFI Infinity P965-S
Gigabyte Geforce 8500GT
Buffalo Firestix FSX800D2C-K2G 2X1GB PC2-6400 CL5
OCZ XTC Active Memory Cooler
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA2
MCE Wireless Keyboard / Remote
Logitech X-530 Speakers
Swiftech H20-220 Water kit
Swiftech MCW30 NB Cooling
OCZ PowerStream 600W
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 08:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unklmo View Post
i realize this.
my initial question was if anyone knew why the psu was shutting down immediatly. what does the +5Vsb mean, and is it bad.
forgive my ignoance on the matter but the little bit i know about pc's is self-taught.
and i'm a lousy teacher !
does your power supply have a 4 or 8 pin 12v atx? If everything is plugged in fine then I'm gonna say you got a faulty power supply, but you'll need a power supply tester to confirm that.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 08:06 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,531

My System Specs

Default

How can you even guess that when he is powering up a motherboard with no CPU or ram? He needs to install all the parts so the thing can attempt to post and then he can start diagnosing any problems if there even are.

NO CPU + NO MEMORY = NO SYSTEM POST. Period. No system post means no system diagnostics have been run.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 08:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
How can you even guess that when he is powering up a motherboard with no CPU or ram? He needs to install all the parts so the thing can attempt to post and then he can start diagnosing any problems if there even are.

NO CPU + NO MEMORY = NO SYSTEM POST. Period. No system post means no system diagnostics have been run.
If the board has a speaker it'll beep... if not then he needs one. No the system will not post to screen but it'll error out and post to speaker.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 08:58 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

well, i post and make it to the BIOS CMOS Setup Utility screen, and then it just powers off.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2007, 10:21 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unklmo View Post
well, i post and make it to the BIOS CMOS Setup Utility screen, and then it just powers off.
Have you tried another power supply? Does the same situation occur?

How long does it take before it shuts off? Can you get into the hardware monitor to check cpu temps?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 08:11 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,531

My System Specs

Default

You need to post just how much you have put this PC together and if you installed the cooling for the CPU. The symptoms you are explaining could be some many different things and I find it hard to believe a 1K PSU in all it's cost and glory would be DOA (not that it isn't possible). If you are not cooling the CPU properly, it will shut off quickly. If the motherboard is grounding out on something inside the case it will shut off quickly. You really need to be much more specific.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 09:47 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I have never ever needed to plug the molex onto the motherboard its unecessary.
You don't run a pair of high-end cards.

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2007, 05:58 AM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
You need to post just how much you have put this PC together and if you installed the cooling for the CPU. The symptoms you are explaining could be some many different things and I find it hard to believe a 1K PSU in all it's cost and glory would be DOA (not that it isn't possible). If you are not cooling the CPU properly, it will shut off quickly. If the motherboard is grounding out on something inside the case it will shut off quickly. You really need to be much more specific.
so i've checked the psu with my wife's pc and it powers it fine and stays powered on. i hauled it back to mine convinced the psu is good (i hope). connect the 24 pin main pwr cable and the 8 pin (also tried the 4+4 pin cpu pwr cable) proc is in (q6600) cpu heatsink has the fan connected but is not mounted to the cpu yet. 2 gigs of OCZ Reaper pc2-8500 ram installed in slots 0 and 1. vid card 8800 gts with 6 pin pwr cable plugged in,1 hd and 1 dvd drive.
Quote:
If you are not cooling the CPU properly, it will shut off quickly
i realize that not cooling the cpu will cause it to shut off, but in under 20 seconds from the time i hit the switch ??
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2007, 06:05 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Yep.

No signal for CPU present/good = immediate shutdown.

Like I've said before... I'm surprised you are getting any indication without the cpu and mem installed.

You cannot verify anything without the cpu / mem installed.

If you have the cpu installed without proper cooling, not only will the board shut down within 20 sec, but the cpu itself might fry within 10 sec.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes