Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2007, 05:34 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default help me rite now lol

PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
what do i dfo to get past this??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2007, 06:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I think one of your hard drives has gone kaput. It may be possible that your pc is trying to boot from a HD with no OS. With the number of drives you are using, that could be your problem. disconnect the drive you boot from, load your o/s onto the drive you want to boot (or boot from another drive with an OS) and see what happens. Also, it just might be the master cable from your drive to the MB. Try swapping cables fromthe the slave IDE connector to the master IDE connector.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)

Last edited by mo' power; July 26, 2007 at 06:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2007, 08:50 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like your computer is trying to boot from LAN. That means it was unable to boot from the hard drive, CD-Drive, Floppy and now LAN. Assuming the boot order is set properly. You can check the boot order in your BIOS to ensure that the hard drive is the 1st device to boot from.

Otherwise your hard drive is probably gone.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2007, 08:57 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Assuming you haven't tried the most obvious, have you switched or tried a different cable for the hdd whether it be sata or ide?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2007, 03:02 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default thanks guys

lol didnt pull in the dvd drive to the mobo lol i was drinking gimme a break anyway just installing xp now
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2007, 04:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

LOL!
PC building+alcohol= :help:

Just kidding...
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes