Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2009, 11:05 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default watercooled cpu temps on non OC system

I just installed a stinger block on my board with everything else ( in my sig) but my temps don't seem to have changed maybe 1 or 2 degrees lower my temps average 44 ( on real temp) and I am pretty sure that is quite high for a water cooled system, before I had a thermalright Ultra 120 extreme with a 47cfm fan pushing air though it and it lined up perfectly ( about 2"away ) to the exhaust fan.
I am suspicious of my mother board ( see How can I tell if my mother board is shot? - Hardware Canucks ) amnd am wondering if this could be the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2009, 11:29 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,419

My System Specs

Default

My temps aren't much lower, frankly I think my cpu just runs way hot. As in it idles around 50C with any cooler, load is about 60. Never seemed right, but never bothered me much either.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2009, 11:33 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,964
Default

seems to me you need to RMA the MB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2009, 11:46 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
seems to me you need to RMA the MB
the mother board is over a year old and I cannot find the receipt so I am doubting that I could actually RMA the board
Quote:
My temps aren't much lower, frankly I think my cpu just runs way hot. As in it idles around 50C with any cooler, load is about 60. Never seemed right, but never bothered me much either.
really that is strange like I sad with air I am only 2-3 degrees warmer so either that thermalright cooler is extremely good or something is wrong somewhere , I am thinking the later
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 02:20 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

Well that heatsink is extremely good. What are temps like under full load?
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 02:33 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

full load is all that matters.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 02:49 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
full load is all that matters.
I havn't stressed it out yes I was a little nervous because of the idle temps , I guess I should stress test itthen, which software should I use?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 02:53 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

OCCT's linpack test.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 08:17 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
OCCT's linpack test.
how long DO I run the test for?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 08:29 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
how long DO I run the test for?
30 mins for now IMO, that should give you a damn good idea of what your load temps are. Once I get my overclock settled in I usually do a 2 hour run. But for now 30 mins should suit your needs just fine.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
watercooled cpu temp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Watercooled Quadcore System GTX260 Dadi_oh Buy/Sell & Trade 21 August 3, 2009 09:12 AM
which temps are correct? cpu, cpu core1? Shadowmeph Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 July 13, 2009 07:23 PM
FS: High end gaming system - watercooled zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 9 April 3, 2009 08:21 AM
[FS] Watercooled Skulltrail System mmansueto Buy/Sell & Trade 28 February 1, 2009 08:37 PM
CPU temps vs Core temps sloth CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 19, 2008 01:34 PM