Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 06:29 PM
Asspigeon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default Freeze

Hey guys, I am new to the site and wondering if you could help me with a problem I have been having.

It seems that whenever I try to run any games on my computer it will freeze after a period of time and I have to reboot. I know this isn't a video card driver issue because I have used 3 different drivers and I get the same result with each one. Also, it is not game dependent because it has happened during a number of different games.

I have not yet checked my memory or power supply to see if they are the source of the problem. Finally my temps are as follows:

MB - 50c (seems a little high)
CPU- 37c
CPU fan - 2848 RPM
CHASSIS fan - 998 RPM

Asus Probe II is showing warnings for both MB temperature and chassis fan speed. These temps were all recorded while the computer was idle.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 06:52 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,936

My System Specs

Default

Computer specifications would definitely help...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 06:52 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,351

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asspigeon View Post
Hey guys, I am new to the site and wondering if you could help me with a problem I have been having.

It seems that whenever I try to run any games on my computer it will freeze after a period of time and I have to reboot. I know this isn't a video card driver issue because I have used 3 different drivers and I get the same result with each one. Also, it is not game dependent because it has happened during a number of different games.

I have not yet checked my memory or power supply to see if they are the source of the problem. Finally my temps are as follows:

MB - 50c (seems a little high)
CPU- 37c
CPU fan - 2848 RPM
CHASSIS fan - 998 RPM

Asus Probe II is showing warnings for both MB temperature and chassis fan speed. These temps were all recorded while the computer was idle.
1) What kind of power supply are you using? Brand & wattage.

2) Download Memtest86+ to test your memory as that's easy step to take.
Download
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 07:26 PM
Asspigeon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default

Athlon 64 X2 4400+
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
2048 OCZ Platinum DDR2-800
Seagate 300GB
7950GTx2
OCZ GameStream 700W

Trying the memtest now
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 08:58 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default idle very hot

Hi, ive got the same MB and software and it never gets above 36 load. that seems very hot for the MB. if youve rule out memory as the problem have you tried something like the vantec fan card on the bottom PCI slot...this blows air over the GPU and board and seems to keep temps down very nicely if you have some vents at the bottom of the case to draw air in. Just a thought.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 09:05 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default just noticed

youve got two 7950's...they have poor stock cooling and will go over 70oc, I wonder if they are heating the MB?...the antec fancard will help there...my 7950Gt used to load at 68-70oc with the board over 44oc with the fan card ive never seen the GPU over 48oc-and MB max 36oc. depends on your case as well.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 09:22 PM
Asspigeon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default

I think I just ruled out memory as the problem, ran memtest for about an hour and saw no errors. If what you say is true about mobo temp, I may look into more cooling.

My case has 120mm intake and 2x 120mm exhaust with stock cooling for GPUs and CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 09:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,657
Default

What case do you use and how old are the fans?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 10:04 PM
Asspigeon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default

Gigabyte Aurora, fans are about a year old (but I clean my case frequently).

MB temps are about 55c under load btw.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 11:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,689

My System Specs

Default

1 HR memtest will only tell you if the mem is pooched, it won't necessarily tell you if it's stable.

Are you OCing?

Have you run a good (8 hour) orthos to prove stability?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Freeze- their new TIM formula Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 13 December 13, 2007 08:27 AM