Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 10:38 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Thats pretty hot MB IMO, like sswilson said 1 hour of memtest is nothing let it run overnight and orthos i go 10-12, as I have thrown errors @ 8.5-9 hours but for me if it hits 10 hours then it it usally stable.
How long before it freezes in game?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 10:44 PM
Asspigeon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default

I will set memtest to run tonight before I head to bed. Computer crashed again just a few minutes ago after about 30~40 minutes of playtime. It can take up to an hour to freeze but it also freezes frequently sometimes (3 times in 5 minutes). In other words, totally unpredictable.

Edit: I am not overclocking, although my memory timings are pretty aggressive to begin with (2-2-2-5)

Last edited by Asspigeon; July 23, 2007 at 10:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 10:53 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

I used to run that board too (same CPU and RAM as well), and it never got that hot. Then again your running SLI which might contribute to the heat.

The board comes with that blower fan to clip onto the heatpipe, maybe try using that to see if it helps lower the temps.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 11:29 PM
Asspigeon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default

EAttached the blower fan and it makes very little difference. MB temps are down 1~2 degrees while CPU temps are up 3~4 degrees.

Edit: Noticed while I was attaching fan that one of the MB heat sinks was loose (see picture). Could this be contributing to the extreme heat of the MB?


Last edited by Asspigeon; July 23, 2007 at 11:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 11:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Could be part of the problem, although I suspect that particular heatsink is covering VRMs rather than your chipset, so I doubt that's what temperature reading you are seeing as "system".

Could be related to your overheat / shutdown problem.... VRM issues on my vid card displayed much the same symptoms.

Do you have some TIM around that you could re-apply?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2007, 06:55 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

You could try to play with only 1 video card ....

maybe one of the 2 card overheat ... you coudl also see if your mb temp are lower with just 1 card

if they are, then you would have to look into more cooling
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2007, 09:17 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

How loose is that heatsink? I know mine wasn't extremely tight, you could wiggle it a bit. Just push down the white plastic things in each corner to ensure it's fully clipped in.

As ebdoradz said, just try running a single video card in the top slot. It's possible the motherboard temperature sensor is somewhere near the 2nd PCI-E x16 slot, thus if the video is pumping out heat right on it, your going to get a high reading.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2007, 09:49 AM
Asspigeon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default

Just ran memtest for 10 hours straight with no errors, so I can rule out my memory as the problem (although all 4 dimms are extremely hot to the touch).

Edit: Just removed bottom (farthest away from CPU) videocard and my MB temps went down dramatically. It is now showing 40~43c. I will loop 3Dmark while I am at class and hope that it doesn't crash while I am gone.

Last edited by Asspigeon; July 24, 2007 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2007, 10:47 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default seem to be getting there...

whats the temp of your GPUS load in SLI and single under load? anyway it would be good if its just a GPU temp issue as you can fix that. not sure about the RAM being hot though--theres some good RAM cooling fans avaliable though. What size is your case anyway? good luck and then you overclock that cpu
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2007, 11:39 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 56
Default

SOUND drivers can be an important player in this as well. My AC97 gave me hell until I had it pinpointed. Updating the Realtek drivers did not help. The games+multimedia kept on frikkin' freezing my ASUS mobo. Since my mobo is Nvidia based (NForce 2), I used Nvidia sound drivers, and the problem has been fixed since!!! Works great too.

The way I found out was playing multimedia files and DVD without sound. This was an accident - a half uninstalled player that did not use sound - but the crashes stopped. Upon exiting a multimedia program, it usually crashed every time, but no sound device, no crash.

Perhaps you could try uninstalling the audio in the devices panel as a test. Not sure your games would start though.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 945
Asus M4A87TD EVO
Sapphire HD4860 1GB (a handicaped 4890)
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3 @1600 MHz
WD Caviar Green 500GB
Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Freeze- their new TIM formula Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 13 December 13, 2007 07:27 AM