Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2009, 09:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Default Question About Lenovo Thinkpad SL500

I didn't know where I can ask a software-related questions.
I thought this might be the place; if not I apologize.
I ordered a Lenovo Thinkpad SL500 laptop. Like almost every other notebook computer, it comes with Windows. In my case, it's Vista Home but I have XP and Vista Ultimate.
I'm going to format the hard disk and set new partition. Then I'm going to install XP and Vista Ultimate.

My question: If I format the hard disk, am I going to lose the recovery software which sets the computer to its factory setting? The recovery tool installs Vista Home in about 20mins. According to them they are not liable to help you if you remove the Windows pre-installed in the computer. I don't understand this part, because I paid for the computer.

My dad's Samsung laptop has a recovery tool which installs XP pro. I noticed that even after formatting the hard disk, it remains intact. The people at Lenovo Tech Support couldn't answer this question. I hope somebody could answer this question.
Thank you for your time.
Looking forward to hearing answers.
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2009, 04:42 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

cos they use MBR of HDD to hold the install data, Norton Ghost™ will do this for you
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2009, 08:53 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

i think what KaptCrunch is trying to say is: Yes, you will lose key components of your "OS Recovery" data if you wipe the hard drive and re-install a different operating system.

If you are keen on preserving this for whatever reason you can use a cloning program (preferably not Norton Ghost, try Acronis) to save the hard drive as it works now. Then you can load XP and Vista Ultimate as you see fit knowing that you can restore the laptop to factory using the Acronis image you took of the hard drive.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2009, 02:56 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

or the safest way

keep the 1 HDD Vista Home

get another HHD for XP/vista U

sorta dual boot swap out the HDD's

or dual boot
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2009, 05:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 58
Default

I have the Lenovo SL500 too.
Yes, you'll delete it but mine come with recovery DVD too which can restore back tp Vista factory default.
I did format the HDD before, use the DVD works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2009, 09:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Default

Thanks,
I made recovery dvds using the software that came with the laptop.
I took 3 dvds! - 1 for startup and 2 for recovery.
Anyway, I'm just glad to learn that I can use my own Windows.
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2009, 01:17 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

good stuff applejack.

i think i missed the mark with the first response.

Tech Support Liability:

Technically the OEM [IBM/Lenovo] is responsible for windows based tech support if it is the original install that came with the product, it is part of their OEM resellers license from Microsoft. Now, If blow out the factory install of Windows and use a retail copy of Windows THEN require OS support that onus falls on Microsoft for tech support. Just like you said in your first post

Quote:
According to them they are not liable to help you if you remove the Windows pre-installed in the computer.
Now, this is just for software technical support. In no way will this void your warranty on hardware.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2009, 04:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Default

Thanks Grinder,
And for the tips on router.
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Lenovo T61p or W500 with WUXGA fuji_man Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 6, 2009 04:31 PM
FS >> Thinkpad X61 Tablet blindfury Buy/Sell & Trade 21 November 3, 2008 09:34 AM
FS / Lenvo/IBM Thinkpad Docking Station! $100 Cptn Vortex Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 17, 2008 05:24 AM
Thinkpad T60 2007VN1 night_rider Mobile Computing 1 January 30, 2008 01:18 AM