Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 11:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 197

My System Specs

Default Q9550 Temperatures

Hey guys, i was just wondering whether the temperatures im encountering with my q9550 are normal (haha im a little paranoid after spending all my savings on it :P)

The temps themselves are fine, all below the 40 degree mark, but ive noticed that the temperatures of two of my cores remain constant and dont change even when placed under heavy load. Core 0 and Core 1 vary so i have no troubles with them but Core 2 and Core 3 remain at 38 and 34 degrees respectively. I've tried many different monitoring utilities and they all yield the same result. Does anyone find this odd? Is it something that i should be worried about?

Any help would be much appreciated :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 11:04 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

have you tried prime 95 and orthos? or just games?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 11:07 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 197

My System Specs

Default

WOW that was a quick response :P Well considering ive never heard of either prime 95 or orthos, its only been games and other cpu intensive activities such as rendering videos. Do you reckon i should download these "orthos" or "prime 95" things?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 11:07 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Probably a stuck temp sensor, it happens. Try running OCCT or Linpack to spike your temps, it may unstick. If not, just follow your sensors on the other cores. Intel doesn't RMA for temp sensors.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 11:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 197

My System Specs

Default

Haha alright, i might just do that and pray for the best. Thanks for the help though guys, you all know so much compared to me :P One last question though, would it still be safe to overclock the cpu since two of the sensors are stuck or should i just leave it running at stock?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 11:17 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

See here for download links: Overclocking tools of the trade

And go for it, just monitor your highest individual core temperature.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 11:32 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 197

My System Specs

Default

Alright, thanks for all the help, i appreciate it :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x58, i7 920 - Slow Startup, Strange temperatures consid3r Troubleshooting 3 May 18, 2009 09:11 AM
What temperatures are your HDD? Silvgearx Storage 10 January 31, 2009 03:33 PM
How to measure temperatures? kav Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 November 19, 2008 06:17 PM
Accurate CPU temperatures? Below_Cost Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 February 6, 2008 02:17 PM
Q6600 Idle Temperatures zlojack CPU's and Motherboards 10 December 2, 2007 08:40 PM