Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 01:32 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,534

My System Specs

Default Going from Laptop to HDTV

Ok, so i have to get my brother's fiance's laptop to output both sound and video to their HDTV. The thing is, its an "amazing" dell laptop and only has VGA or svideo. My question is, which adapter would end up giving a better resolution on the hdtv

PC to TV Cable (S-Video + 3.5mm to Composite AV) 5 ft
DealExtreme: $2.50 PC to TV Cable (S-Video + 3.5mm to Composite AV) 5 ft

OR

VGA to Component Video TV-Out Cable
DealExtreme: $2.92 VGA to Component Video TV-Out Cable
PLUS

3.5mm Audio Jack (Male) to RCA Audio Converter (30cm)
DealExtreme: $1.60 3.5mm Audio Jack (Male) to RCA Audio Converter (30cm)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 02:02 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

the tv does not have a vga in?
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 02:03 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,534

My System Specs

Default

The TV does, but i dont know if it'll support sound, or how it would support sound when set to monitor mode (VGA connection)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 02:21 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 819

My System Specs

Default

the input audio port for the VGA in should be covered in the manual. Id reference it or look to the manufacturers web site if you cant find yours.

if you can't match sound with the VGA in plug the component cable will give you better image than the s-video cable "in theory"

the quality of the cable from dealtime does not look very good tho. the shielding looks paper thin which is a big deal for a component cable. This one looks a bit better.

For only $2.04 each when QTY 50+ purchased - 6FT VGA to 3 RCA component video cable (HD15 - 3-RCA) | VGA to 3 RCA component cable

i'd try with the VGA to VGA cable first tho... way less headaches with setting resolutions and stuff. And if your laptop has an ATI chipset it will be ready to rock and roll simply by plugging it in
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 02:31 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,534

My System Specs

Default

Just fired an e-mail off of to him, should know by the time i get back from soccer the model of both the laptop and tv and i'll look through the online manual to see if what, if any it supports audio when set to VGA, otherwise i am going to come back to my initial 2 possible set ups. Oh i know the VGA to VGA cable would be miles less headache, its more if his tv won't be a bitch and not support audio when in pc mode
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 02:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,212

My System Specs

Default

Not all VGA will output to component you'd have to check the laptop's specs.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 02:49 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,534

My System Specs

Default

All of this work just so he can watch entourage on his big screen from his laptop (he doesn't get the channel that it comes in, not offered) instead of coming over to our parents' house each week to just watch it and go
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 06:47 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,534

My System Specs

Default

Found out the models and time for the research:
dell inspiron 6400
sony 4100S bravia
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 07:21 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Not all VGA will output to component you'd have to check the laptop's specs.
Exactly. To be honest, I really don't know what cards support it.

Typically TV's with VGA ports have a standard 3.5mm jack as well so you just need a straight cable to hook it up or they use the dual RCA jacks. However one thing to note, you might not be able to run widescreen resolutions over VGA. I know on my Sony Bravia it'll only run 1400x1050 or something that's 4:3. Won't run anything widescreen.

S-Video/Composite is just horrid IMO. And as said above, I doubt VGA-to-Component will work.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 07:28 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,534

My System Specs

Default

If my brother gave me the right model it looks like it should be a straight vga to vga and 3.5mm to 3.5mm but i have to see tomorrow if this is indeed true. I told him he wont get 1080p, he's just happy he'll be able to watch things bigger then on a 15" laptop screen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAC DDR laptop mem in an Intel based laptop? sswilson RAM 6 June 2, 2009 12:30 PM
Hdtv and new 5.1 system Jonwall Audio 6 February 28, 2009 02:28 PM
using my HDTV as a monitor. Bucklaz Display Units 11 December 28, 2008 12:36 AM
Connecting PC to a HDTV. werty316 Display Units 3 April 7, 2008 05:22 PM
How to hook up to HDTV? LegendofJubei Display Units 15 December 7, 2007 11:02 PM