Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 12:10 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,601
Default Computer freezing - No errors/BSOD

I was helping my friend out with his computer because he has been having some weird issues with his PC freezing. You can be doing anything at all, and it will randomly freeze. I mean you can be on for two seconds, or two hours. It just stops and you need to hold the power to shut it off. When you turn it back on, it boots fine.

Windows XP Home 32-bit
Intel e8400
GeForce 8400

Everything is at stock settings, no overclocking. He has decent air-flow. I can't see it being a heat issue. Any help is appretiated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 12:30 PM
CORE's Avatar
Top Prospect
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 114

Hi I experienced the same thing on windows vista 64bit. For me its not the hardware (as i thought the mobo) but its the programs running. In my case, the culprit was firefox 3.0 apparently whenever my system freezes firefox 3.0 is running for im surfing the web or doing something while firefox is open. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 01:45 PM
chouchou's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 445

I'm not that great at the whole troubleshooting thing, but my first guess would be your power supply.
If not, run Memtest 86+ for a good 4-5 hours and if that passes I'm fresh out of ideas.
You'll get more responses soon, tho!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 02:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 15,453

My System Specs


Since it's completely random, I'd be more inclined to look at software/OS issues. If it were me, I'd reformat / install everything fresh, but that's just me.... :)
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 04:03 PM
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 32

Do you have another PSU you can try and pull/switch sticks of RAM?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 04:07 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,844

My System Specs


Going to have to agree with some of the other guys, it sounds like it could be a PSU issue if it happens at randoms. Could very well be a leaking/dead cap which is causing there to be insufficient power when it is required (boot up is the highest power spikes typically) or higher loads will cause there to be a higher strain on the PSU to output the needed voltage
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 09:46 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276

My stock 8800 GT was overheating and borking my rig until I ran the GPU fan at 100%. Never ran across that before. Took me days to isolate it. Same behaviour as yours. A few minutes of gaming, or a few hours of surfing, and it would just stop responding. Weirdness. It's worth a look at least.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hardrive Freezing "My Computer" bobaban Storage 5 June 25, 2009 04:35 PM
Voltage and HDD Disk Errors Eagle Eye Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 April 15, 2009 10:11 PM
Still getting errors in BOINC. encorp HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 October 7, 2008 06:18 PM
Random Freezing Infiniti Troubleshooting 2 November 27, 2007 09:34 PM
NSIS errors! mrlie3 Troubleshooting 0 August 4, 2007 07:18 AM