Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 07:06 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default internet dosconnect ,connect,disconnect?????

Ok i am at a loss.
My internet connects and disconnects nonstop .
I am running xp 64
never had this problem before i am running 3 systems off my dlink di 624 router . use rodgers for my isp.

I have googled this problem to death but get no real answers !!!
Any ideas???????:help::h elp::help:
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 07:14 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I think more information is in order...

Is the router dead? Can you ping it?

TCP/IP stack dead?

I assume all computers disconnect....

Is it total loss or just DNS server loss?

etc, etc, etc....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 08:32 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

lol ok i am compleatly noob at this router stuff:)
Don,t know any thing , how do i ping?
how do i know if ip stack is dead and what is it?
I know the other desktop wired to router and laptop wireless works great just my system does this i am wired to the dlink router as well:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 08:45 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Okay, well that narrows it down a bit....

The TCP/IP stack is a protocol (simply, a language) that your ethernet card uses to talk to the internet.

Next time you drop out immediately go to start button, and then go to run. In the run box type: cmd

A dos window should pop up and in there type: ipconfig

It should give you a listing of a few things like:

IP Address
Subnet Mask
Default Gateway

Your IP address is likely to be a 192.168.x.x number, if so, that's good. You want to see if it's a 169.x.x.x address, which would indicate a problem.

Your gateway address is the actual IP address of the router. To ping the router to see if it's "alive" (we think it's fine based on the fact the other machines appear to work) the next time your internet goes down ping the router at it's IP from at least 2 different machines....

In the dos command window you would type: ping ( gateway IP address )

So in my case it would be: ping 192.168.1.1

There, that'll give us a bit more information....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 09:31 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

ok i got ip 192.168.0.100
mask is at 192.168.0.1
i also pinged it and it showd 4 sent 4 recieved with 1 ms in time
so is this good and where would i go g=from here to solve this annoying problem,?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 09:38 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
ok i got ip 192.168.0.100
mask is at 192.168.0.1
i also pinged it and it showd 4 sent 4 recieved with 1 ms in time
so is this good and where would i go g=from here to solve this annoying problem,?
Okay...

Just a correction though, your subnet mask wouldn't be 192.168.0.1 so you probably meant your gateway.

Alright, so your internet "died" again and then while it was dead you were able to ping your router? IE: the device at 192.168.0.1

Okay, well next time it dies try to ping 96.48.250.241

To be clear, these results need to be while your connection is dead....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 10:19 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

You know what it could be, could be conflicting local IP addresses. Do you know the ip addresses of your other 2 computers (run cmd ipconfig on them), it could very well be that this computer is using the same as another and is getting bumped every time the other one uses the network/internet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 10:40 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

unless he manually configured this one, and it sounds like he diddent, the router wouldent send the same IP to 2 computers.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 04:47 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Ok welp i don,t know what happned but now it isn't doing it at all!!1:)
wich is good but dosn't teach me anythimg besides what you guys have taught me on the cmd and ipconfig stuff:)
but we will let it run and see what happens i guess:)
Thankyou all for helping me as always you guys and this site rocks!!!!:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire 9300 Weird Wireless Disconnect Problem Constantine Troubleshooting 0 January 15, 2009 11:02 AM
halo 1; can't connect CTA Gaming 0 November 9, 2008 10:45 PM
connect to the internet... how? CTA Troubleshooting 10 September 5, 2008 12:36 PM
Can I connect my 360 to my pc? Balfrat Audio 6 January 15, 2008 03:45 PM
Cannot Connect To Internet SCW Networking 0 October 26, 2007 07:25 PM