Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 01:46 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default What is happening!!!

Ok when my computer doesn't turn on I have to turn the psu off take it out and rub it down with my hand with the other touching the case. This seems to make the motherboard work WHY!? I am thinking static or cap not unloading charge.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 02:12 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

... Huh...


Wait... What?

How'd you come up with this workaround in the first place?

I'm not sure anyone here and tell you whats wrong, or why rubbing the PSU with one hand while keeping the other on the case seems to get it running again. Perhaps your computers a little sexually deprived?

See if you can borrow a friends PSU to see if that's the issue, other than that... I'm kinda, well, speechless.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 03:49 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

did i say psu i mean motherboard and i don't know i was trying to get rid of any static charge and it just worked :P. Or maybe it is taking the motherboard out of the case in the first place.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 04:40 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

more likly it was a short or MB flexing from bent mounting I've seen in the past with some bulids would work fine outside of case then in case no go.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 05:06 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
more likly it was a short or MB flexing from bent mounting I've seen in the past with some bulids would work fine outside of case then in case no go.
second that
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2009, 07:40 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

but the thing is it works after I put it back in the case I haven't turned it on without being screwed into the case so I doubt it is MB flexing
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2009, 07:55 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
... Huh...

Wait... What?

How'd you come up with this workaround in the first place?

I'm not sure anyone here and tell you whats wrong, or why rubbing the PSU with one hand while keeping the other on the case seems to get it running again. Perhaps your computers a little sexually deprived?

See if you can borrow a friends PSU to see if that's the issue, other than that... I'm kinda, well, speechless.
Well i was laughing the moment I started to read your response Chilly.

But on a serious note, didn't the op say he had problems in the past when it was poor weather outside (raining/thunder storms) and the culprit was high humidity within the house (and a sensitive rig). It could be this occurring again if it only happens when there is high humidity (again i recommend getting a dehumidifier for the house).

If its not, then well, uh... red light district?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2009, 08:52 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Well i was laughing the moment I started to read your response Chilly.

But on a serious note, didn't the op say he had problems in the past when it was poor weather outside (raining/thunder storms) and the culprit was high humidity within the house (and a sensitive rig). It could be this occurring again if it only happens when there is high humidity (again i recommend getting a dehumidifier for the house).

If its not, then well, uh... red light district?
For starters I think the problem is static because in the winter and summer the furnace and AC has a dehumidifier and this problem has been happening on every kind of day for the past week so I think it is static from the air being too dry.

and what do you mean by red light district? (sorry for being a noob)
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2009, 09:01 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
For starters I think the problem is static because in the winter and summer the furnace and AC has a dehumidifier and this problem has been happening on every kind of day for the past week so I think it is static from the air being too dry.

and what do you mean by red light district? (sorry for being a noob)
In the winter time i could potentially believe it being static from the air being dry, but in the summer, living in ontario, there is no way the air can be dry enough to cause static.

If you don't know then we'll leave it at that, i was continuing on with chilly's joke
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2009, 09:08 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Maybe your case is shorting your motherboard somewhere? Make sure to properly seat everything when you put it back in.

I doubt its humidity or the static in the air. That's a load of crap IMO. My comp is currently case-less and sitting on my desk and running just fine 24/7. Its humid as hell outside and the AC is broken.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding with SMP Client - Nodda Happening CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 43 February 28, 2009 07:29 AM