Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 06:03 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default When I hit the power switch the computer doesn't respond!

When I hit the power switch to my computer the computer doesn't respond but inside the motherboard light is on and the pci Ethernet card light is on. I am in the midst of resetting the cmos. What could be the problem it worked fine yesturday when i put it in standby.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 06:09 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Could it be the power switch? The psu works it powered the fans when i gave gave it a jump start.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX

Last edited by andynerd; June 25, 2009 at 06:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 07:28 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

it coujld be grounded inproperly. take it out of the case and try it.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 07:35 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Is this on a new build?
Is the Power Switch Connector the proper way on the Motherboard?

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 07:46 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

no this computer was given to me it has been working for the past few months so it is in the right pin for the power switch.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 07:58 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Hmmmm maybe bad solder on the switch or pot. I'd see if you can remove the switch and have a look at it.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 08:07 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

ok then also is it a possibility that the ram might be fried since it was in standby but inthe morning the standby light wasn't flashing. When I put it in standby world of warcraft was on so could that have damaged the ram?
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 08:19 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
ok then also is it a possibility that the ram might be fried since it was in standby but inthe morning the standby light wasn't flashing. When I put it in standby world of warcraft was on so could that have damaged the ram?

Hmmmmmm I don't honestly know but going into standby I doubt would damage anything.
So, let me just understand Sequance of Events.

- WoW Is Running
- You Put Computer into Standby
- Morning Comes and its not in Standby or even on?
- Power Switch No longer works?

Look at your mother board for any Bulging Cap's too just on the off chance.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 08:21 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Hmmmmmm I don't honestly know but going into standby I doubt would damage anything.
So, let me just understand Sequance of Events.

- WoW Is Running
- You Put Computer into Standby
- Morning Comes and its not in Standby or even on?
- Power Switch No longer works?

Look at your mother board for any Bulging Cap's too just on the off chance.

ST
you have it perfectly right. but i haven't found any unusual looking capacitors. Could it be a static buildup somewhere or a dust short? I do have 2 cats.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 08:45 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Hmmmmmm I don't honestly know but going into standby I doubt would damage anything.
So, let me just understand Sequance of Events.

- WoW Is Running
- You Put Computer into Standby
- Morning Comes and its not in Standby or even on?
- Power Switch No longer works?

Look at your mother board for any Bulging Cap's too just on the off chance.

ST
Have you looked for any Bulging Caps on/in your PSU, something could have happend in there. I had my last PSU die where it showed power to the mobo and NIC but would not turn on and there was a nice row of blow caps i could see in the back through the fan.

Also, thats what happens with WoW, its a hardware homewrecker! (making a joke, no one take the statement seriously)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New case Cosmos s power switch problems jusdrink Cases 1 June 20, 2009 07:59 AM
Computer turns on, but doesn't start up. Kytael Troubleshooting 16 June 6, 2009 05:40 AM
bought some ram but doesn't pc doesn't want to boot Shadowmeph RAM 13 February 22, 2009 12:58 PM
[FS] How not to respond to a Mod while breaking a buy&sell rule Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 20, 2009 05:32 AM
Anyway to fix a cases power switch cables? shryke Cases 4 November 3, 2008 04:12 PM