Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 08:51 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

it was able to power the fans when I jump started it connected to nothing but fans but when I connected it to the cd/dvd the cd/dvd didn't open. Could this also be a blow fuse (checking for caps as we speak)
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:06 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

I checked the psu no blown looking caps and I checked the fuse and it is fine. I jumped the power switch pins but it still didn't turn on and the pins do have power going through them.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX

Last edited by andynerd; June 25, 2009 at 09:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:14 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

i know i keep bumping my own thread sorry but could I try and jump start the psu with it in the motherboard or would that be a bad idea?
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:17 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
i know i keep bumping my own thread sorry but could I try and jump start the psu with it in the motherboard or would that be a bad idea?
As long as it's not a BST thread, it's fine.

You probably should jump the PSU with everything disconnected except maybe a fan to test it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:19 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

It could potentially be a blown cap but it sounds more like an actual blown PSU
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 11:21 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a multimeter? Or one of those cheap PSU testers? Or a spare PSU?

I have all 3. I sound like a broken record I guess but if you're local to me I don't mind helping out someone in a pinch.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 11:25 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

I do have a multimeter but what i am going to do is buy a cheap 50 dollar psu from staples and see if that is my problem then return it.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 12:41 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

I DON'T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED! I forced the psu to start when everything was connected then I took it out and turned it on normally!? WTF Divine intervention much!? ahahah
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 01:12 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

ok never mind but i do remember this happening before i think it is just the amount of static in the air messing with it because today has been a thunder stormy day.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 01:32 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
ok never mind but i do remember this happening before i think it is just the amount of static in the air messing with it because today has been a thunder stormy day.
That is weird if your PSU is that sensitive, may want to see if you can then get a dehumidifier into the room on stormy days to suck out the humidity
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New case Cosmos s power switch problems jusdrink Cases 1 June 20, 2009 07:59 AM
Computer turns on, but doesn't start up. Kytael Troubleshooting 16 June 6, 2009 05:40 AM
bought some ram but doesn't pc doesn't want to boot Shadowmeph RAM 13 February 22, 2009 12:58 PM
[FS] How not to respond to a Mod while breaking a buy&sell rule Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 20, 2009 05:32 AM
Anyway to fix a cases power switch cables? shryke Cases 4 November 3, 2008 04:12 PM