Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 12:13 PM
NightRain's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 168
Default Crossfire setup with random shutdowns

Hey guys so I just recently added an additional Asus 4870 1GB Dark Knight edtion video card to move up to a crossfire setup. I have a FSP 700W Power supply which I though would be enough to run my setup, but now I'm thinking I don't have enough power.

I'm currently running the following

Asus P6T Deluxe motherboard
Intel Core i7 920 CPU with stock HSF
6GB (3X2GB) OCZ DDR3
3x 1TB WD Black SATA HDD's
2x Samsung 223 DVD-RW
1x Samsung Kreon DVD-ROM
Auzentech Forte Sound Card
2x Asus 4870 1GB DK Video cards

Everything was working fine until I added the new video card today, now when I do benchmarks or play games my computer will completely shutdown. Everything besides gaming seems 100% stable.

I'm thinking my power supply isn't cutting it. It only had two 6 pin PCI-E power connectors so I used the adapters that came with the video card to convert two 4 pin molex connectors to a single 6 pin PCI-E power connector. I'm wondering if I could buy a striaght 4 pin molex to 6 pin PCI-E connector or if I should be looking at a new power supply?

I'm hoping to avoid spending too much money since I just spent $220 on this video card, and about another $4000 for new Home Theatre Receiver, Guitar and a pet snake and terrarium. However if I need a new Power Supply I'll buy one, but it would have to be a good one that will last me a while and cost less than $300, howerver $200 would be nicer.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Lian Li PC-V1010B : Dell U3011 30" LCD : Dell U2311 23" LCD : Asus P6T Deluxe X58 : Intel i7 920 @ 3.5GHz : OCZ DDR3 12GB @ 1483MHz 8-8-8-24 : Noctua NH-U12P : 2x MSI 6970 Lightning CF : Auzentech X-Fi Forte 7.1 : 2x Samsung DVD-RW : Samsung DVD-ROM : OCZ Synapse 64GB Cache SSD : WD 1.5TB Black HDD : 2x WD 1TB Black HDDs : Corsair HX1000W : Cyborg R.A.T. 9 : Razer BW Ultimate Keyboard : Energy C-200 /w Yamaha RX-V667 AVR : Sennheiser HD555 Headphones : APC UPS XS 1200 : WIN 7 ULT 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 12:39 PM
NightRain's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 168
Default

BTW this is the power supply I have.

Ultra high capacity PSU: FSP Epsilon FX700-GLN Review - Page 1 - Introduction
__________________
Lian Li PC-V1010B : Dell U3011 30" LCD : Dell U2311 23" LCD : Asus P6T Deluxe X58 : Intel i7 920 @ 3.5GHz : OCZ DDR3 12GB @ 1483MHz 8-8-8-24 : Noctua NH-U12P : 2x MSI 6970 Lightning CF : Auzentech X-Fi Forte 7.1 : 2x Samsung DVD-RW : Samsung DVD-ROM : OCZ Synapse 64GB Cache SSD : WD 1.5TB Black HDD : 2x WD 1TB Black HDDs : Corsair HX1000W : Cyborg R.A.T. 9 : Razer BW Ultimate Keyboard : Energy C-200 /w Yamaha RX-V667 AVR : Sennheiser HD555 Headphones : APC UPS XS 1200 : WIN 7 ULT 64
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 09:11 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

First thing i would do is try running that new graphics card by itself, in non crossfire. Once your satisfied the new card isnt the problem, I would try changing around which power cables you are using to power that video card. That psu should provide enough power, its likely that your overloading one of the 12v rails.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 05:31 AM
NightRain's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
First thing i would do is try running that new graphics card by itself, in non crossfire. Once your satisfied the new card isnt the problem, I would try changing around which power cables you are using to power that video card. That psu should provide enough power, its likely that your overloading one of the 12v rails.
The new video card seemed fine on its own. I tried moving some stuff around power wise and still got the same results. I'm thinking I'm overloading a 12V RAIL too. I only hav two cabled with 3 molex connectors each. One set runs two DVD-RW's and a FAN, the other set was doing nothing so I used it to power the new video card, I tried moving it around but got the same results. However if I only connected 1 HDD it seemed to work so I think I'm just outside the power limits of the power supply. I think the fact that the 12V RAILS only support 15A is my problem.

I just ordered a new Corsair HX1000W, hopefully it will resolve my problems, it is also the last component that I haven't changed since rebuilding my PC in January.
__________________
Lian Li PC-V1010B : Dell U3011 30" LCD : Dell U2311 23" LCD : Asus P6T Deluxe X58 : Intel i7 920 @ 3.5GHz : OCZ DDR3 12GB @ 1483MHz 8-8-8-24 : Noctua NH-U12P : 2x MSI 6970 Lightning CF : Auzentech X-Fi Forte 7.1 : 2x Samsung DVD-RW : Samsung DVD-ROM : OCZ Synapse 64GB Cache SSD : WD 1.5TB Black HDD : 2x WD 1TB Black HDDs : Corsair HX1000W : Cyborg R.A.T. 9 : Razer BW Ultimate Keyboard : Energy C-200 /w Yamaha RX-V667 AVR : Sennheiser HD555 Headphones : APC UPS XS 1200 : WIN 7 ULT 64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 11:27 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

got an old PSU layin around ?
can use an adapter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTT] My LGA775 DDR3 setup for your AM2+/AM3 setup Realityshift Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 12, 2009 05:17 PM
Random question lanken123 Off Topic 11 April 9, 2009 03:30 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM
Need Help - Random Re-Boot misterlarry Troubleshooting 17 September 20, 2008 01:23 PM
Random Lag Infiniti Gaming 10 September 4, 2008 03:28 PM