Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2009, 12:03 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default Installed sound card, but no sound

Hi,

I used to be able to use my back audio ports, but my front audio ports didn't work, before i installed an HT Omega Striker. AFterwards, the front audio ports work but the back one don't. Please Help Me!!!!!

I'm using Vista Ultimate 32 bit. I installed the most current drivers and uninstalled the old Realtek ones. I only plugged the front audio port from the mobo to the HT Striker.

THX
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato

Last edited by jcmaz; June 21, 2009 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 11:42 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default

bumps
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 01:20 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Try disabling the Realtek in the BIOS and reinstall the drivers for the HT and double check connections to the HT back panel.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 10:18 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

Yep disable the onboard sound. Grab the latest audio drivers for the card. Recheck your connections to the front panel ports. If they are incorrect, your card may be detecting that theres "headphones" plugged into the front, and turning off the speaker ports on the card. Also try disabling auto speaker mute when headphones are plugged in.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 11:13 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default

Thanks i'll try that tomorrow and report back, stay tuned :)
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 01:39 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default

Problem solved THX Guys

I plugged the jack in the wrong socket **FACE PALM FAIL**
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 10:27 PM
Installed 4870X2 & lost my sound. Sniper Troubleshooting 11 October 1, 2008 01:34 PM
what sound card to get ? Jim Audio 13 August 27, 2008 10:42 AM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 08:15 PM
Which Sound card is better? xPhuong Audio 1 September 14, 2007 07:21 AM