Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 03:11 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default Comp crashing when phone rings?

Hey all,

Been awhile since i been on this forum.. Went away from the whole computer scene for awhile, but I have a new problem that i hope one of you guru's can help me out with...

I have an iPhone, and have rogers reception.
My rig is as follows:
750i FTW
260core 216
q6700
2x mushkin redlines (4gb)
1x 36gb raptor
1x 640gb WD
2x DVD drives
corsair 620hx

I've googled my problem for endless hours to no avail :S..
and here it is! Ever so often, maybe 1/5 chance, when my phone rings my computer will compmletely lock up.

This means: frozen screen, stuttering audio, and NO, NO! bsod.
I cannot figure out whats wrong. The IO shield is painted, but i called eVGA and they said that the paint would most likely help the blockage of radiofrequencies.

Anyone have any ideas? He said that a big possibility was that my case, Silverstone TJ-07, is amplifying the radiofrequency and possibly crashing my computer? Is that possible? :S

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 03:15 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Crazy, any electromagnetic experts around? This may have no effect, but I would try adjusting the spread spectrum settings in the bios.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 03:19 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

crazy indeed. what would the spread spectrum have anything to do with it? sorry im a compete nub at physics. :P
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 04:20 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

It may not have much to do with it, it was just the first thing that sprang to mind, seeing as how it helps eliminate electromagnetic interferance. Though i believe that is interferance generated by the computer.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 04:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

maybe its a coincidence that it happens as phone rings..
did you test your ram?
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 04:28 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

no, it's definitely not a coincidence. I have purposely called my phone and put it next to my computer to see if it happens, and what do you know! :P
Also, if i keep my phone a ways away from it it never happens.

EDIT: And yes, my ram is memtest 86+ 12 hours stable.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 04:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

It's because apple products are incompatable with PC products.... ;)

Spread spectrum is the only thing that comes to mind, but I'm not even sure if that exists on Nvidia chipset boards.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 04:51 PM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50° 15.5944', W101° 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

The simple solution of course is keep the phone away from the computer. I don't think there is a PC alive that can't be rebooted or made hang by exposing it to a radio signal... yours must be just really sensitive to it. so now you need to figure out why.


Best way to track it down is first replicate the problem, then start removing things external to the computer. I would try printer, then the printer cable try unhooking the screen at the screen, then take the cable away from the computer etc. keep trying over and over and eliminate as much as you can from the situation.

try your Ethernet cable first, allot of those have been made incorrectly... would be my first guess for something external to the case.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2009, 07:37 PM
chouchou's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 444
Default

Alright i'm going to revive this thread. Have some new information ..(and it's still happening.)

So i had to do a testbench for my rebuild, and when i did i tested my cell phone vs my computer. To my surprise, it didn't crash at all.
(this is when i had the rig outside of my Tj-07).
After i sold it, i grabbed a haf 932 and rebuilt my computer into that. And back comes the crashing.

HOWEVER - there were a cuople difference between the test bench and the new rig.
First of all, the printer and ethernet cables weren't connected, but when i put my rig back into the case it started happenign again.
So i figured, that must be it! took out the cables, but bam. still happens.
can cases really magnify the signal so much that it causes a computer crash?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2009, 10:26 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Wow.....that really is a doozy you got thier Chou....I'm beginning to feel the back of my eye ball throb, my eye lid flickers as the migraine begins...brutal having intermittent problems like that. Now, Mr Wilson mentioned Spread Spectrum and yes, in your BIOS (nForce Chipset right) thier is a Spread Spectrum setting, not sure what you do with it, but it is thier.
As for your Case and Radio Frequencies...dunno, seems crazy that it has happened on both your Silverstone and now your HAF, that should rule out the Case..........

Basically if I get an issue thats intermittent like this I'll start trying to eliminate problematic Hardware.....its all you can really do...what PSU do you have? Think I would start thier.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crashing - Tried Everything - PLEASE HELP Rawhyde Troubleshooting 8 June 13, 2009 05:24 AM
cell phone question how to transfer my cell phone pics to my comp Shadowmeph Off Topic 1 January 29, 2009 10:51 AM
clocking and crashing and gaming and folding and crashing vinister Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 June 30, 2008 11:22 AM
X1950XT crashing ebdoradz Video Cards 1 June 12, 2008 10:20 AM
Strategy Informer reviews Lord of the Rings: TBFME II—The Rise of the Witch-King Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 January 4, 2007 05:37 PM