Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 01:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default Crashing - Tried Everything - PLEASE HELP

I am ready to EAT A BULLET over this - GEEEZZZZ! I built a machine less than 60 days ago and have had problems since day 1. Started with a simple black screen and auto-restart if I was playing COD WaW for 20-30 minutes or working in CS2 for an hour or two. Then as time progressed over the last month it has gotten worse. Now shutting down within 5 - 15 minutes once in Windows regardless of the program running (even while sitting at desktop). I have all updates to windows and hardware including drivers current. When the machine restarts it usually goes "blackscreen" and only goes into a loop of restarting. I have to cut all power and allow it to sit. Hitting reset or just powering off and back on does not work I usually have to allow it to sit for 10 - 15 minutes before it will boot to Windows. I have replaced the mobo, HDD, memory, tested video cards in another machine as well as formated and reloaded Windows Vista 64 about 5 times...nothing has helped. I have done more than this, but you are probably tired of reading by now. See machine specs below:

MOBO = Nvidia x58 Extreme Classified
CPU = Intel i7 920
Mem = 6G Patriot
Vid Card = 2 x EVGA 260 GTX (they are SLI'ed)
PSU = Corsair 1000w
Heatsync = Cooler Master V8
HDD = Veloceraptor 300G
OS = Windows Ultimate Vista 64

This machine should smoke...instead it CHOKES!!!!!!!!!! HELP PLEASE!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 01:53 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

on next startup, press f8, select - disable automatic restart on system failure. That should give you a blue screen with an error code, instead of reboot looping. Look for an error code such as 0x000000 or a system file - such as nvs.sys.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 01:57 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

I'm thinking heat could be an issue... Did you check the mounting of your V8? Which thermal paste did you use? Did you check the temps? Are all your voltages ok? Did you set them manually? Tell us a bit more.... :)
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 02:34 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Where do you live?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 03:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Have cleaned and re-seated heat sync. Also used f8 to
disable restart. When disabled it still black screens with
no error code. Have seen 4 blue screens in 2 months.
Split second and no way to see code. I have checked
voltage and temps and all is perfect. Will stay on in
Cmos and bios as long as I want. Even took vid cards
out one at a time and tested in buddy`s machine.
Both worked fine. He has low psu so no way to sli
On his. Therm paste was cooler master. Cpu steady at
30-31 degrees C. Very confusing.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 03:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Sorry. I live in houston.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 03:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,521

My System Specs

Default

Can you get your hands on a different PSU?

It wouldn't be an issue of being underpowered, but even quality PSUs have issues some times.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 05:01 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Im thinking where the problem is slowly getting worse, its a peice of hardware dying. Sounds like a power supply problem, and especially where youve swapped out just about every part except for the psu. Borrow a psu, and run it with just 1 vid card if it cant support sli.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 05:24 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

second the psu thing it sounds like 12v rail. get another psu if you can to try.that's just my take
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ntune = crashing CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 December 13, 2008 10:28 AM
7900GS crashing? chouchou Video Cards 1 November 1, 2008 08:24 AM
clocking and crashing and gaming and folding and crashing vinister Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 June 30, 2008 11:22 AM
X1950XT crashing ebdoradz Video Cards 1 June 12, 2008 10:20 AM
BF2 crashing,, curtispan Troubleshooting 8 January 2, 2008 03:51 AM