Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 09:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, Québec
Posts: 219
Default SATA Controller

When I enable the AHCI in my BIOS, windows bluescreen on me at load up . This is weird... I only have a SATA HDD and a SATA DVD Drive... I want to enable it to get all the more performance, because I am now on the default IDE controller. Do you guys know what is causing this?

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by LC0g; June 3, 2009 at 10:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 09:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LC0g View Post
When I enable the AHCI in my BIOS, windows bluescreen on me at load up . This is weird... I only have a SATA HDD and a SATA DVD Drive... I want to enable it to get all the more performance, because I am know on the default IDE controller. Do you guys know what is causing this?

Thanks a lot!
Your not going to gain any real world performance.

And sounds like you have XP which means its a royal PITA to get it working.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 10:23 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,724

My System Specs

Default

Not if you have a second SATA controller on the board or in a slot that you can keep in IDE mode while the other is in AHCI.
IIRC anyway..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 07:49 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I read somewhere that you have to re-install windows if you change to/from ahci.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 08:58 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

As MacJunky said there's workarounds, some people use the "usually" included Jmicron as an IDE Emulated SATA port and make the intel/amd ones AHCI, boot off the jmicron install the Intel matrix drivers and then swap the cable over.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 09:21 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,034

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Your not going to gain any real world performance.

And sounds like you have XP which means its a royal PITA to get it working.
I call BS on both of these statements.

Back when I ran my SATA drives in IDE mode, heavy I/O would cause my high end system (at the time) coming to a grinding halt.

We're talking 3 hard drives and 1 dvd burner, extract from A->B, burn from C->DVD, and then getting less than 1X burning speed.

Questions - SATA performance, RAID, reliability - XtremeSystems Forums
In particular, my reply on post #11.


I've successfully switched from IDE->AHCI on an XP and Vista installs using the instructions found here: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows - PC Perspective Forums
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 09:33 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
I call BS on both of these statements.

Back when I ran my SATA drives in IDE mode, heavy I/O would cause my high end system (at the time) coming to a grinding halt.

We're talking 3 hard drives and 1 dvd burner, extract from A->B, burn from C->DVD, and then getting less than 1X burning speed.

Questions - SATA performance, RAID, reliability - XtremeSystems Forums
In particular, my reply on post #11.


I've successfully switched from IDE->AHCI on an XP and Vista installs using the instructions found here: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows - PC Perspective Forums
That is fine I've run both tests and neither were much different from each other.

All AHCI provides is hot swapping for ESATA and usage of NCQ if your hdd has it which has been shown to be detrimental to performance not increase it.

Enabling Write Cache will give you more performance than enabling AHCI.

And funny that article you posted says the exact same thing I did. However, in the real world the performance difference isn't huge.

So.. say again whose calling bullshit?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 09:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,034

My System Specs

Default

First link is to address performance -- Something I saw first hand on multiple systems.

Second link is to address the XP install of AHCI drivers (switching from IDE).
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 09:44 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
First link is to address performance -- Something I saw first hand on multiple systems.

Second link is to address the XP install of AHCI drivers (switching from IDE).
First link is about RAID
Second link is about switching from IDE Compatibility mode to AHCI; which also says no real world performance.

Want a shovel?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 09:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,034

My System Specs

Default

Did you read the first link? I started that thread. You want a shovel too? :P
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA detection problem and do you have to format it absolutely on a new controller Mario Storage 11 May 30, 2009 01:34 PM
[FS] WTT/WTS DVD's for cash/sata optical drive/sata hdd's/ Geforce 9800 or better The MAX Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 16, 2009 04:22 PM
windows home server and sata controller......... rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 March 20, 2009 10:58 AM
WTB: GeForce 7800 based AGP card & PCI SATA controller MacJunky Buy/Sell & Trade 6 January 16, 2008 05:11 PM
SATA-3G HDD with Marvell controller!!! francois methot Storage 2 August 23, 2007 01:16 PM