Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 05:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Default Computer turns on, but doesn't start up.

hello everyone,

when I turn on my computer, it seems to turn on normally, the 6 phase power lights go on, the fans spin up, etc. and then nothing. nothing appears on my screen, and it just stays that way. some things of note:

5 of 7 of my fans spin up, the ones that don't spin are my CPU fan, and a fan on my video card cooler that I have plugged into SYS_FAN2. they work normally if plugged into other fan headers, and they appear to receive power(they twitch) for a split second when I turn the computer on or off.

my hard drive accessing LED goes on and never goes off at all.

I don't get any post beeps, but I actually don't remember ever getting any when it worked fine.

my mouse(USB) LED's light up when the PSU is on but the machine is not

things I've tried:

resetting the CMOS
reseating the RAM
using a different system HDD


system specs:
Processor: Q6600 G0 OC'd to 3.0
MoBo: GA-EP35-DS4
RAM: Mushkin XP-6400 2x2GB, 4-4-4-12
Graphics: 8800GTS 512, which was OC'd until recently because a lot of my games did not play nicely
HDD: WD 320GB Blue (system drive), WD 1TB Green(data drive)
PSU: Corsair HX520
Sound: Asus Xonar DX

at this point I'm stuck without doing major surgery (TRUE is fun to handle+my lovely cable management will be ruined) but I think the problem is either the motherboard or the power supply, seeing as the fans don't spin up. or it could be the video card, I'm going to try replacing the video card with an older 6600 GT from the computer I'm currently using.

so I was wondering if anyone could give a few tips or ideas to solve the problem

Last edited by Kytael; May 31, 2009 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 05:44 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

I can't say I have any tips, but my thoughts are the motherboard. Does the PSU's fans spin?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 05:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Default

the PSU's fan does spin
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 05:52 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

thats one of the reasons i hate gigabyte boards

can you get into bios?

i bet you can't, all you heard and see are lights on the board and fans, hard drive, GPU all working and no post right?

I don't konw whats up with those gigabyte boards. but what i did was reset the psu for 1sec and make the board set specs back to default to boot into windows.

which board and what rev you have? gigabyte likes to have a lot of revisions of there boards

IF what i am saying is right, and you want to overclock that quad, you can set the volts and FSB, save the bios and reset the psu for 1 sec again just enough so it doesn't completely shuts off pc.

If you got the older version you need to q-flash the bios

hey, i could be completely work and it might break your machine in long runs but thats how i dealt with the same issue you had on your gigabyte board

theres a tech support here for gigabyte. and theres a lot of helpful stickies for gigabyte boards

- TweakTown Forums

Last edited by Silvgearx; May 31, 2009 at 05:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 05:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Default

nothing on the screen, so no BIOS, just all the hardware spinning up and working. the board version is Rev 2.1

thanks for the site, I'll have a look
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 06:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,478

My System Specs

Default

Did you try a "long" CMOS reset with the PSU turned off (or disconnected)?

If not, turn off the PSU, press the start button to drain the capacitors, take your battery out, set the cmos jumpers to reset and leave them there for 5 - 10 minutes.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 06:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Default

I didn't do that, so I will now

EDIT: it is "long" resetting now, will provide update in 15 minutes

Last edited by Kytael; May 31, 2009 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 06:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Default

no change
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 06:59 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,478

My System Specs

Default

This guide is a little long in the tooth, but it's pretty well where you're at now.....

10 Step "No Post" BIOS Recovery Guide
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2009, 04:26 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

DUMB Question is the pins tight on the power plug by the mosFet VR's near rear header?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Computer turns on then shuts off in 3 seconds Dashock New Builds 15 May 31, 2009 01:39 PM
bought some ram but doesn't pc doesn't want to boot Shadowmeph RAM 13 February 22, 2009 12:58 PM
laptop turns off after restart FreakyStyley Troubleshooting 8 January 30, 2009 01:40 PM
cant get computer to start Defiant Troubleshooting 5 December 18, 2008 09:58 AM
What does it look like when you start your desk/computer on fire? THIS *PICS* lowfat Off Topic 9 February 11, 2008 03:59 PM