Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2009, 04:12 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,710
Default

Pelt

I'd invest in a smart UPS, myself had to for the old building i live has bad case of brownout, lost to many HDD an data.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2009, 05:13 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Grande Cache, AB
Posts: 1,834

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelt View Post
Hopefully this will fix the problem and I'll able to make popcorn and do some fragging at the sametime,lol.
You have the option of using a saucepan and stovetop for popcorn too you know.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 01:30 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magictorch View Post
"The wattage your circuit breaker is based on physics: Voltage x Amperage = Wattage (V x I = P). Typically, houses in the US have 115VAC.

115V x 15A = 1725 watts
115V x 13A = 1495 watts

This is the total power available for the entire circuit. This includes anything connected to this circuit: monitors, speakers, printers, clocks, lava lamps, etc.
"
Be advised you cannot always rely on the rating marked on circuit breakers.

A number of years ago we went through and tested all the breakers for a local school's electronics lab.

Every bench had it's own breaker as well as for each office and the lights and a couple of peripheral circuits.

Over 90% of the breakers were out of spec on the high side. Most 20 amp breakers were delivering almost 30 amps and some were still not tripping despite delivering almost 40 amps of current. Most of the 15 amp breakers delivered between 18 and 22 amps before tripping. None of the breakers was more than five years old and a number were brand new.

Can one say insurance?

Note also that 115v is only nominal as the "standard range" is 110-120v. In most cases it is usually closer to the 120v and can be as high as 125v.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.

Last edited by NyteOwl; June 3, 2009 at 01:35 PM. Reason: Fixed typos
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apartment in Ottawa mattlef Off Topic 4 May 22, 2009 07:50 PM
Which system is better?? Barber New Builds 42 March 14, 2009 01:15 PM
new system help Zippoh CPU's and Motherboards 5 December 11, 2008 05:37 PM
New System! :) Kandorf Troubleshooting 2 October 3, 2007 03:24 PM
New System - Need help Sameer CPU's and Motherboards 27 April 29, 2007 10:15 AM