Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 10:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default PSU compatibile?... plz help :)

Hey all,

We had our power go out last night (wondering if its related) and now my GF's comp wont turn on. When you hit the power button the fans and LED's flash for a second as they would on startup but the whole machine just dies. You can hit the power button right away and does the same thing over and over, just dies after about a second, nothing comes up on screen or anything, it just cuts all power after it flashes briefly.

My media centre PC is working fine after the outage this morning, my gaming rig is working fine also. All 3 comps have surge protectors. She's 95% sure the comp was turned off during the night.

Could it be her power supply fried? Is there anyway to test the PS unit short of removing mine and trying it in hers? (reeeeeaaally dont wont to to do that due to the cable management Ive done in my case).

Any feedback is welcome and appreciated, thanks in advance for your time...
__________________
ASUS P-55 Mobo
INTEL I5 Quadcore@ 2.8
Corsair Self contained waterloop
16GB Mushkin 1333 DDR3
EVGA 2GB GTX 560
OCZ GameXtreme 700w
120 GB Corsair SSD
2 TB WD Caviar Green
WD Raptor 10k 150g

Last edited by Zelzubub; May 18, 2009 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 10:54 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

you could unplug the 24 pin atx connector and use a paper-clip to short the green wire with a black wire. This will force the PSU to turn on while not connected to the motherboard. Note that this test will not be as conclusive as swapping out her PSU with yours.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 05:36 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

something is shortted this why boots then dies

try disconnect hardware till machine boots (had a failed cdDrive do the same thing)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 05:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default

So I just went out to London Drugs, our only local comp store around here, and picked up a new PSU and got a good price ($119) on the BFG 650w GS series but Im having compatibilty issues. The new PSU doesnt have a 4 pin connector that plugs into the top left of my motherboard. The motherboard for this comp is a Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe so its a few years old. Its also missing the little 3pin connector that powers one of the motherboard's fan outlets.

Is this PSU just not compatible with this motherboard? Or can I get a connector for those 2 missing jacks?

Sorry for the newb questions and for my newb terminology, but could really use some advise here.
__________________
ASUS P-55 Mobo
INTEL I5 Quadcore@ 2.8
Corsair Self contained waterloop
16GB Mushkin 1333 DDR3
EVGA 2GB GTX 560
OCZ GameXtreme 700w
120 GB Corsair SSD
2 TB WD Caviar Green
WD Raptor 10k 150g
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 05:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default

Hmm, interesting thought Kapt, I may as well try the old supply again now that Ive completely taken it out, and try unpluging a few things... nothing to lose...
__________________
ASUS P-55 Mobo
INTEL I5 Quadcore@ 2.8
Corsair Self contained waterloop
16GB Mushkin 1333 DDR3
EVGA 2GB GTX 560
OCZ GameXtreme 700w
120 GB Corsair SSD
2 TB WD Caviar Green
WD Raptor 10k 150g
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 05:52 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

you can get adapters for the motherboard power.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 05:59 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelzubub View Post
So I just went out to London Drugs, our only local comp store around here, and picked up a new PSU and got a good price ($119) on the BFG 650w GS series but Im having compatibilty issues. The new PSU doesnt have a 4 pin connector that plugs into the top left of my motherboard. The motherboard for this comp is a Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe so its a few years old. Its also missing the little 3pin connector that powers one of the motherboard's fan outlets.

Is this PSU just not compatible with this motherboard? Or can I get a connector for those 2 missing jacks?

Sorry for the newb questions and for my newb terminology, but could really use some advise here.
I don't understand what you mean by the little 3 pin connector, but usually the 8-pin connector that powers the motherboard can be seperated in 2, and use the one compatible with the board's socket. Simply do not use the second 4-pin connector.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 06:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default

Well Kapt was right, I put the old PSU back in, disconnected the dvd drive and worked again. Thanks for the help pinpointing the problem!


I do however still want to use the new power supply in this comp to try out SLI since I have 2 8800GT's. These are the connections Im worried about, Ive circled them on the picture:




This is the power supply: http://www.bfgtech.com/CMDocs/BFGTec..._sellpiece.pdf

Thanks for the replies everyone, I appreciate the help.
__________________
ASUS P-55 Mobo
INTEL I5 Quadcore@ 2.8
Corsair Self contained waterloop
16GB Mushkin 1333 DDR3
EVGA 2GB GTX 560
OCZ GameXtreme 700w
120 GB Corsair SSD
2 TB WD Caviar Green
WD Raptor 10k 150g
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 06:33 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I gave you the answer in my reply; check out the link you gave us, and the 4th pic showing the connectors: it says 4+4 pins. Split them, and use only one. They have a pattern, and only one of the 2 will work.

edit: the 3-pin connectors are for case fans, and no connector from the PSU connect to those.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 06:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default

Ok, so I didnt notice the 8 pin was actually 2 4 pin... doh!


Still wondering about the small one on the bottom left though.
__________________
ASUS P-55 Mobo
INTEL I5 Quadcore@ 2.8
Corsair Self contained waterloop
16GB Mushkin 1333 DDR3
EVGA 2GB GTX 560
OCZ GameXtreme 700w
120 GB Corsair SSD
2 TB WD Caviar Green
WD Raptor 10k 150g
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safe to turn on johnnyuterus Troubleshooting 15 January 5, 2009 08:27 AM
What do i need to turn off in Asus Bios Computergeek CPU's and Motherboards 5 August 28, 2008 08:40 AM
My turn to ask for help Cptn Vortex Troubleshooting 17 March 23, 2008 02:05 PM
Conroe turn on = no display Moneyless Troubleshooting 7 May 28, 2007 06:30 AM
Some Specs turn up for new AMD chips Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 9 March 15, 2007 05:51 PM