Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 11:12 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default Dual Booting causing problems for the 1st time

Hey guys, I've dual booted tons of times.. hackintosh/windows ubuntu/windows xp/vista..... basically everything.

This computer has been nothing but problems though. I tried installed XP on 1 harddrive, and Vista on the other.

It would not work. Whenever I had one working, I'd go into bios, change bootup to other hd, then I'd get bootmgr errors.


I decided to just partition my 1 harddrive into 2 partitions, and install Vista on the one, and XP on the other....

The same way I've done it tons of times on previous computers without any issues.

For some reason, this time they both installed fine... (i did vista first) but it automatically boots into XP everytime.... I dont get that one boot screen that you usually get. (the one that says you have 29 seconds to choose the OS you want to load)

Does anyone know if I can change something to make that screen appear... rather then installing the os's AGAIN (will be 3rd time tonight)

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 11:14 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Actually... I think if I download EasyBCD it will solve my problems... hold on 1 sec while I try it.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 09:56 AM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Hmm. I've tried going vista first, then xp... and other way around a few times last night... its not working at all like it used to..

Now I went XP then installed vista on the other partition. Now the computer just boots straight into Vista. No screen comes up letting me choose which OS.





EDIT:

I used easyBCD to get the boot screen to appear. Vista works fine, but when I select XP I get that NTLDR error!

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |





Last edited by element291; May 15, 2009 at 10:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 01:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
Hmm. I've tried going vista first, then xp... and other way around a few times last night... its not working at all like it used to..

Now I went XP then installed vista on the other partition. Now the computer just boots straight into Vista. No screen comes up letting me choose which OS.





EDIT:

I used easyBCD to get the boot screen to appear. Vista works fine, but when I select XP I get that NTLDR error!

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?
Do this it's what worked for me when I had this same issue


Fix [COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]Boot [COLOR=#173e68! important]Loader[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]

:
Vista will load the GUI files, and then display the loading splash screen.

-Click "Next" on the first screen
-Once the "Install Now" menu (do not click Install Now) choose "Repair Your Computer":



-You will be prompted to choose the OS to repair. Don't worry if Vista is the only OS that shows up, even after a search.


click "Next"

-I realize there is a "Fix Startup" option, but it's been my experience that it doesn't work, and this method will.
-choose to open a "[COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]Command [COLOR=#173e68! important]Prompt[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]":



type in the command prompt the following 2 lines (separatly):
Bootrec.exe /fixMBR
Bootrec.exe /fixBoot



-close the prompt and restart
-now that Vista controls your boot loader, the process is mostly finished, now we need to inform Vista that XP is installed, as

to enable the boot loader selection screen.
*There are programs such as VistaBootPRO that will do this for you, but it requires .[COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]NET [COLOR=#173e68! important]framework[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], etc, so I did it the manual

way.
Edit boot.ini:
In Vista, the boot.ini is not editable directly, as the file itself is hard to locate, so we will be modifying it through "Boot

Configuration Data Store Editor" bcdedit.exe:
(Just as an explanation, the loader type for XP is an NT Loader, hence the use of ntldr)

-first open a [COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]command [COLOR=#173e68! important]prompt[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]

with administrative privilages (right-click and choose "run as administrator")
*Note the following 2 answers from bcdedit for each item are acceptable:
"The Operation Completed Successfully"
"The Specified Entry Already Exists"
Be sure to type each line carefully (replace C in the first line with the drive containing your Vista installation):
bcdedit –set {ntldr} device partition=C:
bcdedit –set {ntldr} path \ntldr
bcdedit –displayorder {ntldr} –addlast
bcdedit -set {ntldr} description "[COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]Microsoft [COLOR=#173e68! important]Windows [/COLOR][COLOR=#173e68! important]XP[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]"

The completed bcdedit file should resemble this:



-This will correctly add XP to your boot sequence, and even name it properly instead of "Earlier Version of Windows"
-the displayorder line also allows the entry to be visible under the advanced settings of your computer properties.



Vista is the default boot, if you wish to change this to XP it can be done by setting {current} to addlast, or under the computer

-> properties -> advanced settings.

If all done properly, XP and Vista will dual boot properly
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 04:05 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,310

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodgrod View Post
Do this it's what worked for me when I had this same issue


Fix [COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]Boot [COLOR=#173e68! important]Loader[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]

:
Vista will load the GUI files, and then display the loading splash screen.

-Click "Next" on the first screen
-Once the "Install Now" menu (do not click Install Now) choose "Repair Your Computer":



-You will be prompted to choose the OS to repair. Don't worry if Vista is the only OS that shows up, even after a search.


click "Next"

-I realize there is a "Fix Startup" option, but it's been my experience that it doesn't work, and this method will.
-choose to open a "[COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]Command [COLOR=#173e68! important]Prompt[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]":



type in the command prompt the following 2 lines (separatly):
Bootrec.exe /fixMBR
Bootrec.exe /fixBoot



-close the prompt and restart
-now that Vista controls your boot loader, the process is mostly finished, now we need to inform Vista that XP is installed, as

to enable the boot loader selection screen.
*There are programs such as VistaBootPRO that will do this for you, but it requires .[COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]NET [COLOR=#173e68! important]framework[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], etc, so I did it the manual

way.
Edit boot.ini:
In Vista, the boot.ini is not editable directly, as the file itself is hard to locate, so we will be modifying it through "Boot

Configuration Data Store Editor" bcdedit.exe:
(Just as an explanation, the loader type for XP is an NT Loader, hence the use of ntldr)

-first open a [COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]command [COLOR=#173e68! important]prompt[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]

with administrative privilages (right-click and choose "run as administrator")
*Note the following 2 answers from bcdedit for each item are acceptable:
"The Operation Completed Successfully"
"The Specified Entry Already Exists"
Be sure to type each line carefully (replace C in the first line with the drive containing your Vista installation):
bcdedit –set {ntldr} device partition=C:
bcdedit –set {ntldr} path \ntldr
bcdedit –displayorder {ntldr} –addlast
bcdedit -set {ntldr} description "[COLOR=#173e68! important][COLOR=#173e68! important]Microsoft [COLOR=#173e68! important]Windows [/COLOR][COLOR=#173e68! important]XP[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]"

The completed bcdedit file should resemble this:



-This will correctly add XP to your boot sequence, and even name it properly instead of "Earlier Version of Windows"
-the displayorder line also allows the entry to be visible under the advanced settings of your computer properties.



Vista is the default boot, if you wish to change this to XP it can be done by setting {current} to addlast, or under the computer

-> properties -> advanced settings.

If all done properly, XP and Vista will dual boot properly
what he said it looks hard but if you follow the instructions it will work
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 04:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

I found it really easy I installed and set up vista then installed XP, rebooted then got the error booted from the vista DVD repaired the start up put these commands into the command prompt under the vista set up.

"Be sure to type each line carefully (replace C in the first line with the drive containing your Vista installation):
bcdedit –set {ntldr} device partition=C:
bcdedit –set {ntldr} path \ntldr
bcdedit –displayorder {ntldr} –addlast
bcdedit -set {ntldr} description "[

And that did the trick
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Booting ALWAYS Corrupts New OS Tw3ak3r O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 May 5, 2009 03:29 PM
amdlld64 causing bsod upcoast604 Troubleshooting 0 May 2, 2009 08:05 AM
Booting problems on a 5 months old computer foxman Troubleshooting 12 November 21, 2008 04:06 PM
E8400 and Rampage OC - 1st Time sbrown2410 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 July 16, 2008 07:12 AM
Dual monitor problems ragenrok Video Cards 4 May 4, 2007 11:34 AM