Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 09:45 PM
Pokeguylow's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 23
Default Whats wrong with my pc!

I unplugged my hdd and then plugged it in again. And now my pc can't boot vista! Im able to go to bios and boot safe mode. but when i try to boot the regular mode, the green vista loading bar appears and then black screen "no signal"! but however, i can hear the windows sounds! whats going on? I've reseted like 10 times.
Im using safe mode to post this message lol.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 09:54 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Sounds like a video card issue if your monitor is telling you theres no signal. did you unplug the HDD while the computer was on??
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 09:57 PM
Pokeguylow's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 23
Default

nope, i was moving the hdd down in the hdd cage, like move it from the top to the middle. and the comp was working before that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 10:23 PM
mklym's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 239
Default

You might have bumped the video card or power conn. Try re-seating the card and power conn.
__________________
Current Rigs

Panasonic Toughbooks
CF-18 x4, CF-19, CF-29 x2, CF-30 x3, CF-31, CF-52 X2, CF-74 X3, CF-S10

ThinkPads
X301, A31p

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you're not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 10:37 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Yeah check the power connector on the video card and make sure it is seatted properly...it may have been misaligned. Also, if you can start in Safe Mode, perhaps try and reinstall the drivers. It might work after that.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2009, 01:22 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

you are saying that you can boot into safe mode but not to desktop? if this is the case then I am thinking it is a Vista problem because if your card wasn't seated properly or is having problems then I doubt that you would be able to boot into any mode( I am not toally sure of this but I have never heard of this happening because of a seating problem). when you press F8 at boot up is there still a last time stamp or boot into last known good, try that if that doesn't work try using ( in safe mode) system restore. maybe even use your vista disk to repair
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2009, 01:25 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,472
Default

When in safe mode just go into the device manager and delete the video card from the list and then boot back into windows.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2009, 01:30 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 37
Default

Got the same problem when my pc updates the ATI driver..... The card don't work anymore in DVI just in analog..have to roll back the old driver .... itís why I look for Nvdia now.


Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
When in safe mode just go into the device manager and delete the video card from the list and then boot back into windows.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats wrong ?????? Cadence Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 31 February 28, 2009 07:12 PM
whats wrong with this 9600gt? Silvgearx Video Cards 7 February 28, 2009 09:14 AM
Something wrong? paphman910 Off Topic 2 December 19, 2008 05:43 PM
Did I do wrong? Jack Rabbit Off Topic 9 June 6, 2008 04:31 PM
don't know what's wrong with me... Scratch Water Cooling 5 March 5, 2008 11:06 AM