Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 05:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default Disk Boot Failure - Insert system disk and press enter?

so I helped my friend build his PC. I turn it on, it loads up goes to the mobo menu, then displays "diskboot failure insert system disk". I do that, and it repeats. I'm sure all the cables are connected, I've gone through the bios and enabled first boot priority to CDROM. second to Hard disk. third to CD ROM again. and still nothing seems to work/
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 05:50 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

Need more info please.
What's the build, OS, etc.
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 06:58 PM
Object X's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie. Ontario
Posts: 43
Default

What did you set the sata mode to? If its set to AHCI or RAID mode you have to tell the bios to boot from either scsi(AHCI) or from raid. Even if you dont have a raid array running you will still get that error. Also it may be that the OS disk is garbage and wont boot from CD and attempting to boot from the primary HDD. Im leaning more towards a bad OS disk.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 07:03 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 37
Default

A cdrom ! are you installing XP or Vista. ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2009, 01:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default

omg, so sorry guys. I fixed it right after I posted this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2009, 08:23 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

No worries, good to hear you got it up and running.
What did it end up being?


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gg ? possibly? (system book disk error) Cadence Troubleshooting 11 May 8, 2009 03:48 PM
Unable to boot from Windows disk, no input from PS2/USB keyboard the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 6 March 1, 2009 01:02 PM
Using an old ATA hard drive as the boot disk on a P5E3 Deluxe? Maplicito Troubleshooting 1 January 21, 2009 09:23 PM
Disk imaging software. Il Duce Troubleshooting 6 December 21, 2008 10:27 PM
Disk Boot Failure Unklmo Troubleshooting 9 September 19, 2007 04:48 PM