Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 07:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
Default Videocard does'nt seem to fit

Hey guys i started building my pc, but I've encountered a problem. I bought a EVGA E-GEFORCE GTS 250 756MHZ 512MB 2.2GHZ DDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDTV Out Video Card and my case is Thermaltake SopranoRS 101 Mid Tower ATX Case Black 4X5.25 2X3.5 5X3.5INT No PSU Side Window. Now when i try to install thevideocard it doesn't seem to fit. I don't know how todescribe it exactly but the metal openings on the back of the case are too small for the end of the videocard to fit through it, so my question is, do I have to cut that piece of metal out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 07:24 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

You're supposed to feed the connectors through the opening, not the whole video card backplate. One of the ends has a 90* bend and a screw hole to secure it, and the other end has prongs that match small rectangular holes in the motherboard base plate.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 07:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
Default

So im supposed to unscrew the backplate from the videocard?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 07:32 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

No.

Your case has plastic tabs to secure a card. Open the one that are related to the position of the PCI-e slot you wish to use.

Slide the card in place, and make sure the end prongs match the rectangular holes in the motherboard backplate - they're located between the back panel and the motherboard. If you look at the link of the case, the first pic of the inside of the case shows 7 small rectangular "black" holes - those are the ones I'm talking about.

Secure the card in the PCI-e slot, and close the plastic tab to secure it in place.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 07:32 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

Here, have a video to help you out:
YouTube - Computer Hardware : How to Install a Graphics Card
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 08:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
Default

hmm I've tried everything but the videocard just doesn't want to fit in the PCI-E slot, something must be wrong because it just shouldnt be this hard, gonna try tommrorow. Is it possible that my motherboard is not positioned in the exact spot its supposed to be?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 09:01 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I'd be really surprised, since the case is an ATX. Did you locate all motherboard screws, and does the connector backplate fit with the board's connectors? If so the board is at its correct location.

Can you take a clear picture of the interior of the case?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2009, 12:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

I dont suppose you could take a picture of the motherboard position vs the opening could you?
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 05:57 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 18
Default

A few simple thoughts:

It is a double slot card and you will need to free up two slots. If you have not removed the metal tab on the back of the case for the slot below you will need to do so. (this sounds most likely like your problem).

Depending upon your mobo you could have SATA connectors which interfere with the card. You may have to put the 90 degree connectors in. This may also limit the number of SATA devices you can have.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 07:04 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 104
Default

ThermalTake likes cutting small slot openings.
My 4870 bearly fits in my Armor case
You probably have to widen the opening
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to test a used videocard? pp1111 Troubleshooting 10 April 21, 2009 04:19 PM
Will these fit? JD Water Cooling 8 January 5, 2009 08:23 AM
Cooler Case Fit carld2002 Air Cooling 16 December 4, 2008 09:07 PM
What do you all use to stress test your Videocard? Gameplaywarrior Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 October 11, 2008 03:12 PM
will it fit? Help ragenrok Video Cards 16 March 18, 2007 02:55 PM