Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 09:03 AM
Junglebizz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 51
Default RMA to manufacturer cost/time

Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone had a rough idea of what the total cost is to ship a motherboard back to the manufacturer in the US for an RMA? I was told that I would have to pay freight in and out as well as all customs and duties. Depending on how much this is going to be, I just wonder if it would be worth getting a new motherboard instead.

Motherboard in question is an ECS G45T-M2 from a friends HTPC. This would be the second RMA for this board (first one was to NCIX within 30 days) so I'm hesitant to think that the 3rd times a charm with this board. If the cost is too high, I may just go with a Gigabyte GA-G31M-ES2L instead for $64.

Anyone have to deal with this shipping situation before and have an idea of what the cost will be (or for that matter, the turn around time?)
__________________
AMD Phenom II X3 720BE 2.8GHz || Sunbeam CCTF
G.Skill Pi 2 x 2GB PC-8500 5-5-5-15 || Corsair TX850w
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P || Coolermaster Centurion 534
BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC || Crucial M4 C400 128GB SSD
WD WD6401AALS 640GB x2 || Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB
LG L203WT 20.1" LCD || LiteOn 16x DVD+RW DL
Overclock: 3588 MHz @ 1.475v (17.5x205), 2255 CPU-NB @ 1.275v, 2050 HTT, 5-5-5-15-25-2T - 1093 @ 2.1v || GTX 280 @ 635/2302/1391

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 09:11 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

For $64, I'd probably just buy a new mobo. I paid $28 to express ship a GTX260 one way to EVGA a couple of weeks ago.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 09:14 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

just buy a new one i normal do unless it a biggie ( in price )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 09:18 AM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

trash it, but for your info, canadapost.ca have all the info for ship something, you enter the destination, the weight and dimention of the box.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 09:37 AM
Junglebizz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 51
Default

I'll check that out and let my friend know the options. Odds are the new one is going to be the way to go. Any opinions about the GA-G31M-ES2L? I have had good luck with gigabyte boards, so I figured I would go with it. Any other options? It does not have to be mATX, but it needs to support 45nm 775 cpus and have built-in video.

After visiting the canada post site and guessing the dimensions of the box it would ship in, the one-way cost was just over $31. So ~$62 for both ways, plus any duties... Yeah, that's pretty well as much as the board was worth new
__________________
AMD Phenom II X3 720BE 2.8GHz || Sunbeam CCTF
G.Skill Pi 2 x 2GB PC-8500 5-5-5-15 || Corsair TX850w
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P || Coolermaster Centurion 534
BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC || Crucial M4 C400 128GB SSD
WD WD6401AALS 640GB x2 || Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB
LG L203WT 20.1" LCD || LiteOn 16x DVD+RW DL
Overclock: 3588 MHz @ 1.475v (17.5x205), 2255 CPU-NB @ 1.275v, 2050 HTT, 5-5-5-15-25-2T - 1093 @ 2.1v || GTX 280 @ 635/2302/1391


Last edited by Junglebizz; May 8, 2009 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 11:05 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

FedEx Ground = $19.27 or something (5-7 days) .
And, customs and duties are Exempt if you put that it is a Warranty or RMA with a total Customs value of $10.
I've done this for a VC and PSU now, and never had anything held at the border nor have I paid customs.

That being said,
If you want Onboard and Rockstable , and no intention of OC'ing, get the same board I have in My Main rig.
Intel DG35EC, it supports upto and including the Q9650.
I've had it since they first came out.
Its had 3 Different Chips in it now, and not one problem or issue.

Best Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 11:51 AM
Junglebizz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 51
Default

It's only running an E5200 and overclocking/quad core CPU isn't exactly on the horizon for this system. It's good to know about the exempt option. I may look into fedex as an option, but that's still almost $40 assuming there's no duties when ECS sends it back.

FedEx site said the price would be similar to what you quoted, but I am still guessing on the size/weight of the package.

Also the site says: Important for Customs: To prevent delays, your shipment must have the following customs documents attached: Commercial Invoice, Certificate of Origin, Shipper's Export Declaration. Additional clearance documents may also be required.

Smells like hassle....
__________________
AMD Phenom II X3 720BE 2.8GHz || Sunbeam CCTF
G.Skill Pi 2 x 2GB PC-8500 5-5-5-15 || Corsair TX850w
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P || Coolermaster Centurion 534
BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC || Crucial M4 C400 128GB SSD
WD WD6401AALS 640GB x2 || Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB
LG L203WT 20.1" LCD || LiteOn 16x DVD+RW DL
Overclock: 3588 MHz @ 1.475v (17.5x205), 2255 CPU-NB @ 1.275v, 2050 HTT, 5-5-5-15-25-2T - 1093 @ 2.1v || GTX 280 @ 635/2302/1391

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 12:13 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junglebizz View Post
It's only running an E5200 and overclocking/quad core CPU isn't exactly on the horizon for this system. It's good to know about the exempt option. I may look into fedex as an option, but that's still almost $40 assuming there's no duties when ECS sends it back.

FedEx site said the price would be similar to what you quoted, but I am still guessing on the size/weight of the package.

Also the site says: Important for Customs: To prevent delays, your shipment must have the following customs documents attached: Commercial Invoice, Certificate of Origin, Shipper's Export Declaration. Additional clearance documents may also be required.

Smells like hassle....
Yeah size weight is always consideration, but I'm going on the last price I got sending something down stateside for RMA (my VC) and trust me, the box it was packed in makes a motherboard box look small.
So thats my charge for dimensional Weight.
As for the Documents.

You only need one, not being a buisness. That is a Proforma Invoice, which is a customs document that has information 'to the best of your knowledge'.

That being said, if it smells too much like a hassle, then get a new board.
DG35EC can be found cheap online, and will take your E5200 without a hitch.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 09:11 AM
Junglebizz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 51
Default

So in the 2+ weeks since I asked them for an RMA number they have transferred me to a different department where I almost had to repeat my tests I did for the first department, then they asked me twice to contact NCIX to get them to deal with it as shipping will be heinous. I'm really getting bored of this running around.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X3 720BE 2.8GHz || Sunbeam CCTF
G.Skill Pi 2 x 2GB PC-8500 5-5-5-15 || Corsair TX850w
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P || Coolermaster Centurion 534
BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC || Crucial M4 C400 128GB SSD
WD WD6401AALS 640GB x2 || Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB
LG L203WT 20.1" LCD || LiteOn 16x DVD+RW DL
Overclock: 3588 MHz @ 1.475v (17.5x205), 2255 CPU-NB @ 1.275v, 2050 HTT, 5-5-5-15-25-2T - 1093 @ 2.1v || GTX 280 @ 635/2302/1391

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 09:23 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 950
Default

I'd say it's not worth the hassle, especially if you can get the Gigabyte for $62. It's a better board overall and chances are it will be trouble free and rock solid for years.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which ati manufacturer? Scart Video Cards 11 September 8, 2008 09:37 PM
Manufacturer Reps BALISTX Suggestions & Feedback 40 August 8, 2008 12:51 PM
Best 9600 Manufacturer? TwystedMonkey Video Cards 9 March 20, 2008 09:17 AM
RMA howto and RMA list qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 4 November 8, 2007 02:22 PM