Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 06:27 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default Charlie and Kruzn: Heres those pics




As you can see, its just the tail end of the plastic thats hitting, but I cant use the top drive bay at all. So my storage drive is MIA right now, and I just have the cage out, with my boot drive resting on the plastic 'runners' in its carriage.

I realize if I buy the GTX200 adapter (assuming it fits a 275), I can watercool the card to fix the bottom situation in the cage, but it still puts me out of the storage bay area. Take a look at my watercooling thread to see pics of my loop. Those pics have my 88gt in it, but it would be the same loop more or less. The major change is the 680i board, and my gfx card has moved to the 2nd 'slot' on the back PCI covers, with the first being taken up by this ASUS addin sound card, so everything has move up one slot.

The worst part is that if I decide to SLI (which was my plan) I cant, because the bottom x16 slot will barely fit the card, and them I'm TOTALLY out of hard drive spots.

Suggestions are more then welcome.:help:

But I think it might just be easier to get a HAF. I think this P180 is just starting to show its age Atleast I wont run into more issues down the road in a HAF if I go i7 or some such.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about

Last edited by Sagath; May 6, 2009 at 06:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 06:28 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Its time for a new case!

That is way to cramped.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 06:33 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

Here's the pic, as promised.





SDD is located using velcro, and I used the 5.25 / 3.5 cage adaptor from Zalman for my secondary - which sits on top of the DVD drive.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 06:47 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

Two more pics : I guess if I completly redid my loop, I could do it. But with my rad already top mounted. Ugh. Id be starting over from scratch. And I dont have an SSD, if I'm spending 250 on a Vertex, I think Enaberif is right, it is probably better spent on a new case.



and
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 07:10 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

are you getting the 60gb vertex? I just bought one, its being shipped right now. I'd second a new case, that's quite cramped
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

get a haf and your problems are gone
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 11:29 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Why not just get a esata enclosure? That is if all you want is another drive installed.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 12:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Why not just get a esata enclosure? That is if all you want is another drive installed.
+1.....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 04:28 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

the haf fills up fast but have to agree. there cheap for a full tower and the design is just great jmo.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 04:51 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

And I thought my Shark was a tight fit.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] krazy kruzn's For Sale thread - Price Drops! kruzn4evr Buy/Sell & Trade 74 May 7, 2009 05:13 PM
heres a link to my htpc build HaDeS HTPC Systems & Software 0 April 6, 2009 12:50 PM
Heres A Funny One tyreman Troubleshooting 18 March 13, 2009 03:25 PM
Charlie at his best...ahhh yeah cwestwell Press Releases & Tech News 12 October 15, 2008 01:23 PM
Heres my planned build, does everything look ok. shanty140 New Builds 28 June 2, 2008 01:25 PM