Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 11:39 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default os won't install

Having major issues with this second system.

I have tried installing the following:

XP sp2 installed got all drivers working couldn't update to SP3.

Wiped it tried installing xpsp3 black edition gave me a blue screen.

Tried win7 RC and same thing gave me blue screen and a random reboot.

I have tried 3 different hard drives I have used memtest to test 2 of my 4GB of ram and they passed.

The only step I can think of to do next is to take out the 9950 and install everything with another AM2 processor. Then once I'm all set up flash the boards BIOS with the updated version then try it with the 9950.

I'm at a loss here.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 11:41 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodgrod View Post
Wiped it tried installing xpsp3 black edition gave me a blue screen.
There is no BLACK edition.

It is a pirated version with a lot of other crap implemented and unfortunately because of this nobody is going to be able to help you.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 11:47 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

Ok but my official version of xp with sp2 slipstreamed I can ge that installed but sp3 won't install from either windows update or the downloaded file. Neither will windows 7.

I just tried the pirated windows as a way to rule out the issue with SP3.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 11:55 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

I'm certainly not an expert, but a bios flash recently fixed a big problem for me. Wait until the experts chime in, but it seems like a bios issue.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 12:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

BIOS flash is my next step, Thursday night after work the wife and Kid are out of town so I will get some energy drinks and stay up late, I am sure I have an old AM2 sempron from my moms computer around here. I am going to pop that in and see how it work out for installing the OS then to flash the BIOS.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 12:11 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

That mobo has 5 SATA ports. Have you tried switching it around? Might have a bad one or two. I'm leaning towards the "BIOS flash" myself, but it's worth a try. Also, since you have time to kill until Thursday, you could try installing a different OS to test your platform (ie:Ubuntu).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 12:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

Indeed it has 5 I will switch the HDD to a different port. If thats all it is i'm laughing.
The 2 BIOS updates listed are not for my issue however you never know.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 02:35 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

At what point did it bluescreen? Did it BSOD at the start, or did it BSOD when it's trying to search for HDDs?
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 02:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs View Post
At what point did it bluescreen? Did it BSOD at the start, or did it BSOD when it's trying to search for HDDs?
During the win7 set up it gets to expanding then blue screens after about 20-30% and with XP I can't get SP3 to install.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 10:32 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

I am going to try a different SATA port and a different SATA cable to see if thats been the problem all along.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P5Q Vista 64 won't install Derko Troubleshooting 40 November 28, 2008 11:33 AM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM
Ubuntu 8.04 install Osnaz O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 July 30, 2008 08:01 AM
Vista SP 1 still failing to install... TwystedMonkey Off Topic 12 June 20, 2008 10:54 AM
IE7-- should I allow it to install? Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 April 21, 2007 11:29 PM