Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 05:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,436

My System Specs

Default

If you're really on a tight budget Cactus, the audigy 2zs series cards by creative will work fine. You can get a second hand one for much less than $80. There are also vista drivers for them as well. Just a suggestion. I'm using the same speaker system as the one you have.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 06:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo' power View Post
If you're really on a tight budget Cactus, the audigy 2zs series cards by creative will work fine. You can get a second hand one for much less than $80. There are also vista drivers for them as well. Just a suggestion. I'm using the same speaker system as the one you have.
With that card your 5.1 setups works tight?

If so, i'll buy one audigy 2zs right away xD

thanks everyone =)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 06:51 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,487
Default

I hated the new creative drivers for the audigy series cards >.< their 5.1 support is horible, all the love went to the x-fi as soon as they where brough out. with the audigy you get no surround mixer support in vista, no EAX, nothing that would cause you to buy a card over the regular integrated options, the sound quality is a tiny bit better but not worth $60-$80 for a audigy 2 when you can buy an X-Fi extreme gamer for $100 and have much better sound quality especially when gaming, or the omega striker is a little cheaper as well.

Audigy 2 cards are like what 7 years old?
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 07:34 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,067

My System Specs

Default

Hey joe are you using the drivers provided by Gigabyte or by realtek?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 11:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Default

By gigabyte, why ?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 01:00 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,067

My System Specs

Default

I thought the configuration would of been different, but I tried that last night while it updated the drivers to most recent version it didn't make any difference to the realtek sound control manager.

If its any consolation I have the same issue, so you're not alone. Everyone is right here to solve the problem we'll both need a decent soundcard that will offer some form of simulated 5.1 surround or in my case the DTS Interactive feature.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 07:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,436

My System Specs

Default

I'm using the latest driver which was released last month and I'm not having any issues. I bought my card on ebay about 4 years ago for 40$. There's no way a second hand Audigy2 series card costs $80.It's been running strong ever since. It's now on it's 4th board. P4S800, P5N32 SLI, P5KPL-CM and now my 780i. I find the sound is better than the onboard and the only issue I can remember, had to do with CMSS which was messing up speaker configuration.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2009, 08:31 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,067

My System Specs

Default

I solved my issue with this software, enabled Dolby Prologic II while using the Dolby Digital Live option and it outputs to all speakers.

Simulated surround it isn't great but it works.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Marvell vs Realtek ethernet controller TheRock CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 2, 2009 07:46 AM
on board Realtek ALC888 vs Audigy 2zs Halestorm Audio 4 February 22, 2009 01:36 PM
Question about Realtek sound lyned Troubleshooting 6 January 25, 2009 05:23 AM
Onboard Realtek HD + HD 2600XT = missing sound device nikitos Video Cards 14 July 24, 2008 05:18 AM
Rear Channel on Realtek HD? sswilson Audio 8 July 25, 2007 01:07 PM