Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2007, 04:16 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

I will use Spywareguard too then. Haven't have much time to spend on my computer so will let you know in a day or two.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 06:48 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

Well I have done everything you guys have told me to do and I still get slowdowns in command and conquer generals. It also happens in Medieval 2 total war. I can play Half-Life 2 and Counter Strike Source at max settings at 1600 x 1200, 1920 x 1200 is a little laggy. So any more suggestions? Oh and when the game gets a slowdown in Generals the sound goes out completely too. M2TW sound keeps going except when the game freezes for a second.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 06:55 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

What are you using for audio?

Could it be a hardware conflict or driver issue with your audio?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2007, 07:28 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Aside from audio drivers (which have to be checked), which PSU are you running? The "crappy" 500W or the "old" 420W? I'm asking since I have the same P4 541 and it's power-hungry... like you would not believe.

Also, I had problems with sound dying too when my 541 was once overclocked too high. Is yours oc'ed too?

Have you run Memtest86+ to check the Ram?

Could it be that your GPU is overheating, creating lags in your games? Or asking too much from that 7600GT? It's a (relatively) old card - an old generation for those newer games.

John
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2007, 01:25 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

I am using soundblaster extreme music and the latest drivers. I am using the 500W PSU and have not overclocked at all. The 7600 GT is 43-44 degerees cesius at idle, 59-60 at load. Haven't Overclocked the 7600 GT but it is factory overclocked. Well I think I will try out Memtest86+. Memtest86+ showed 0 errors and 2 passes(ran test twice). Going to see if the sound card is the problem, but have family reuinion so can't look at it now.

Last edited by belgolas; July 15, 2007 at 09:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2007, 08:01 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

I don't think it is my soundcard because after uninstalling it it still had the problems. Could Hard drive cause the problem? Maybe my mobo is breaking? Maybe the GPU is dying? Don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2007, 10:10 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

what settings work for one game might not work for another. In Generals is there a slider/button to enable/disable hardware or software audio? Or to enable/disable EAX or something? That might be the problem.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2007, 04:40 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Talking

:) :) :) :) Me very happy. Well there are no options in the game other than volume(shows how old it is). So you got me thinking. I went into me Creative Audio Consule and disabled EAX. Still slowdowns. :(. I then was trying different stuff and disabled CMSS-3D and that solved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! funny that that was one of the features I wanted but it was almost impossible to hear the difference with 5.1 speakers. Now for some Smilies. (hope there isn't a limit) :bananafu nky::banana funky::bana nafunky::canadianwa ve::cana dianwave::canadianwave ::canadi anwave:

Now I can spend my free time on games.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes