Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 08:45 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,657
Default

Time to send it to seagate.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 08:48 PM
Defiant's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Default

damn ah well i tried. thanks for the help though i appreciate it.
__________________
Main: Evga 780i sli, 4GB DDR2-800 OCZ reaper, EVGA 9800+ 512 MB, Intel q9300 @ 2.5 Ghz, Antec 900, seagate 1tb hardrive, OCZ modxstream pro 600w
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 08:51 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

Sorry to tell you that I lost one of my customer in Feb and one last week they was purchase in January. It's may be not the problem, but big chabce it is and the update is need to avoid it.


Look at that tread on seagate 74 pages

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 Firmware Issues - Internal (ATA and Serial ATA) drives - Seagate Community Forums


Here a comment from Dell " Specific Seagate Barracuda SATA drives with certain revisions of firmware have the potential to become inaccessible during a power Cycle. "

you can find more info on the few link down
Issue Description

Specific Seagate Barracuda SATA drives with certain revisions of firmware have the potential to become inaccessible during a power Cycle.

Issue Description

Specific Seagate Barracuda SATA drives with certain revisions of firmware have the potential to become inaccessible during a power Cycle.



Seagate Knowledge Base

Dell - Technical Support=

Dell - Support
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 08:55 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

do you try option D ( to detect the HD) it should see it,

make sure to send it direct to Seagate, not the place where you buy it, so you will sure to have one with the update done.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Defiant View Post
1. yes
2. yes
3. yes
so i tried doing the firmware update and it says it does not detect the expected st310034as and when i get it to scan for any sata device it does not detect it.

Last edited by dataxpert; April 19, 2009 at 09:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 09:29 PM
Defiant's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Default

i did do option d and it did not detect it
__________________
Main: Evga 780i sli, 4GB DDR2-800 OCZ reaper, EVGA 9800+ 512 MB, Intel q9300 @ 2.5 Ghz, Antec 900, seagate 1tb hardrive, OCZ modxstream pro 600w
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to copy one hard drive to another? chouchou Guides & How-to's 10 May 15, 2009 10:17 PM
Hard Drive benchmarks Mr. Gruntsworthy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 March 13, 2009 10:34 PM
Hard drive WolfBane Storage 8 July 24, 2008 01:08 PM
Vista problem or bad hard drive? Varroa Troubleshooting 11 February 23, 2008 06:29 AM
ftp to Hard drive opj38 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 10, 2007 11:39 AM